Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-23-2020, 05:33 PM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 829
Default Track Presets Do Not Open Closed Folder Tracks

Hey guys,

While creating track presets to use in building work templates, I felt it would be nice to save some screen real estate, so I closed the folder tracks before saving them as track presets. When I imported the presets, the folder tracks were empty/wouldn't open. This is a serious bug! I was fortunate to have also saved my work as a session, and that enabled me to re-save the track presets with open folder tracks, which worked.

Has anyone else seen this?
__________________
X99 | i7 5960x @4.6GHz | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB | Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256 SSD 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB x2 | WD Elements 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT2020.12 | Windows 10 Pro

Last edited by lesbrunn; 04-24-2020 at 11:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-24-2020, 01:40 PM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 829
Default Re: Track Presets Do Not Open Closed Folder Tracks

Hey guys,

Nobody seemed to take this issue seriously, maybe because I didn't explain it well. If it's as I think it is, then Avid should address this asap.

All data is lost when you save a closed folder track as a track preset.
Please try this:

1. Create a few tracks (these could be audio, instrument, aux, whatever)
2. Move them into a folder track (any type).
3. Close the folder track and save it as a track preset.
4. Recall the track preset that you just saved.

In my case, the folder track cannot be opened. The size of the folder indicates that the contents are missing. Please try this and let's see if anyone has this issue. Thanks
__________________
X99 | i7 5960x @4.6GHz | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB | Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256 SSD 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB x2 | WD Elements 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT2020.12 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-25-2020, 01:50 AM
ibbod0 ibbod0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 54
Default Re: Track Presets Do Not Open Closed Folder Tracks

Same here, seems like the folder is empty.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-25-2020, 09:45 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 829
Default Re: Track Presets Do Not Open Closed Folder Tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibbod0 View Post
Same here, seems like the folder is empty.
At last! I've found someone else who has seen this huge bug. Honestly, the initial response was disappointing. Maybe not many people work this way. I reported it to Avid, but they never seem to reply. You can also report it. Avid never seems to take things like this seriously,

Maybe they will if enough people complain...

I'm in the process of recreating my templates using folder tracks. Apart from large mix templates, I have lots of VI's and other stuff that I import into sessions. The idea was to give these imports a small footprint (because the sessions already have lots of tracks) so I can open them as and when needed, but the purpose is defeated.
__________________
X99 | i7 5960x @4.6GHz | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB | Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256 SSD 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB x2 | WD Elements 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT2020.12 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2020, 09:47 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 829
Default Re: Track Presets Do Not Open Closed Folder Tracks

BTW I also posted this in the folder track requests thread when nobody replied here. May be that's the best place for this.
__________________
X99 | i7 5960x @4.6GHz | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB | Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256 SSD 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB x2 | WD Elements 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT2020.12 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-27-2020, 02:56 AM
bartosz idzi bartosz idzi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 104
Default Re: Track Presets Do Not Open Closed Folder Tracks

Did you tick "Include All Member Tracks" when saving the folder? Easy to miss...

All working fine here...
Attached Images
File Type: png Zrzut ekranu 2020-04-27 o 11.54.43.png (19.2 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Mac Pro 2 x X5690 3.46Ghz - 64 Gb RAM - SSD 256 Gb - SSD 1TB - OS 10.14.6 - Metric Halo 2882 + Lucid 88192 - Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.11
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-28-2020, 02:11 PM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 829
Default Re: Track Presets Do Not Open Closed Folder Tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by bartosz idzi View Post
Did you tick "Include All Member Tracks" when saving the folder? Easy to miss...

All working fine here...
Thanks bartosz idzi, got it. All good now...
__________________
X99 | i7 5960x @4.6GHz | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB | Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256 SSD 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB x2 | WD Elements 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT2020.12 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are Pro Tools new Folder tracks the same as Logic Track Stacks? Kerochan Pro Tools 2020 3 04-04-2020 07:40 AM
Track Presets Folder Location ShiftStudios Pro Tools 12 11 02-12-2016 10:55 AM
Accidently closed my Tracks window, how re open? Danny Winn Pro Tools 10 5 08-05-2012 02:12 AM
Can't save with 'tracks' window closed? RaySoul 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 12-23-2009 06:27 PM
Closed or Open Backed Headphones? GTBannah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 10-16-2008 11:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com