Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-29-2010, 06:05 AM
The Miff The Miff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 41
Default Is PTLE8 a full install?

I purchased a 003 a few years back. It came with PTLE6.something.


I've since upgraded to 7.4, then 8.01.

This weekend, I'm recording a friends band at his place. I'l bring the 003, pre amps, mics, iLok, etc., but will be using his iMac as the host.

I've logged into my account and downloaded PTLE8.0 to a pen drive, with authorization code. Can I simply install 8.0 fresh, or do I need to start with my original 6.x?

I ask this because the SN for 6.x is somewhere in storage with the manuals, and may be difficult to locate. My friends place is a 2 hr drive, so I'd hate to arrive and be unable to install.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-29-2010, 06:19 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Is PTLE8 a full install?

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Miff View Post
do I need to start with my original 6.x?
Absolutely not. In fact, Digi recommends a clean uninstall of previous versions before installing PT8
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-29-2010, 06:35 AM
The Miff The Miff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 41
Default Re: Is PTLE8 a full install?

Thanks, I needed to hear that!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-29-2010, 06:44 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,063
Default Re: Is PTLE8 a full install?

PT8 is a full installer. Actually, the 003 never worked on any older version than 7.3 anyway.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RESOLVED: Need PTLE8 Install advice asap. 99silverado Eleven Rack 11 03-26-2011 11:26 AM
How many install instances does PTLE8 allow? Nathan Rain 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-09-2010 03:19 PM
PTLE8 Install Hangs DonM 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 08-24-2009 02:50 PM
Restore-Install PTLe8 & plug ins henno 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-14-2009 04:06 AM
PTLE8 will not install NS3474 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-20-2009 08:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com