Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-12-2010, 09:03 AM
darksun production darksun production is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Default Pro tools le 8.0.3 crashes during playback or recording

every time I load up a session into protools 8.0.3 cs2. session will load up fine. but as soon as I hit play or record something pro tools just gets hung up and I get the pinwheel of death. I have done all the optimizations that avid suggest and I have even uninstalled pro tools 8 and done a safe install and a clean install can somebody please help me get this thing running correctly. also I'm using a iomega mini max hard drive incase that helps(I have been using the hard drive with protools le 7.3.1 which hasn't given me any trouble since I started using it.) please any suggestions that I'm over looking.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-12-2010, 09:22 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,806
Default Re: Pro tools le 8.0.3 crashes during playback or recording

We're going to need a bit more info to help you.

The Help Us Help You thread link below my signature goes into detail about what we need from you to assist you properly.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-12-2010, 10:04 AM
darksun production darksun production is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pro tools le 8.0.3 crashes during playback or recording

ok , so here is some additional info. I have a mac mini intel core duo 2.26, 2 ghz of ram, I'm using a mbox 2 for my interface. my os is snow leopard 10.6.2
, I'm running pro tools le 8.0.3cs2, my external hard drive is a Iomega mini max 500 gb firewire400 hard drive 7200 rpm.im also using a 800/400 adapter.
As previously stated. I have done all of the optimization that avid suggested expect for trashing some the databases. which I will try in minute. Again the problem seems to be that when I load up a (7.3.1cs8) session it will load correctly. once I hit the spacebar or click the play button in the transport it doesn't do anything or if I try and record a new session I will get hung while recording . It will simply stay idle and I get get the pinwheel of death.so I will then force quit and restart my computer,but then the computer will hang up on the restart.
thanks in advance.
Also here is a listing of some of the optimizations I have done.

turned off airport
turned off energy saver
turned off put drive to sleep when possible
turned off bluetooth
turned off firewire networking
got rid of additional startup items
removed additional usb hub
disabled filevault
disabled spotlight indexing
updated pace drivers

Last edited by darksun production; 04-12-2010 at 10:14 AM. Reason: to add additional info
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2010, 10:14 PM
eight16 eight16 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 38
Default Re: Pro tools le 8.0.3 crashes during playback or recording

Dont worry...the problem wont go away...mines been messed up for 2 months now
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-16-2010, 03:07 AM
whoisthisguy whoisthisguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 39
Default Re: Pro tools le 8.0.3 crashes during playback or recording

same problem

i downloaded 10/6/3 update been told that has something to do with it
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-16-2010, 03:09 AM
Mothlight Mothlight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 28
Default Re: Pro tools le 8.0.3 crashes during playback or recording

ive got 20 tracks and 6 plugins, with 10.6.2 and 8.0.3, and can't go a minute without it fritzing out, losing communication with my clock, giving errors such as h/w buffer (set to max [and every other thinkable combo] on a 2.33 macbook pro with 4gb ram), and Harddrive Underflow (whatever the hell that is)- and being an overall terror. I would be embarrassed to use this rig with a client. I'm at a dead stand still until this stuff gets ironed out.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-16-2010, 01:14 PM
darksun production darksun production is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pro tools le 8.0.3 crashes during playback or recording

so far what I've found out is that my external harddrive can't keep up with pro tools le (which is weird btw it works fine with logic 8 express and protools le which is on my imac g5) I've taken one of my heavier sessions off of my external hard drive and put it on the system drive and it works fine with all my plugins and all. So at this point Im looking to get a faster external hard drive cause that seems to be my problem. I hope that might help anybody else in this
crappy situation.

Last edited by darksun production; 04-16-2010 at 01:19 PM. Reason: misspelled word
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-16-2010, 03:56 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,806
Default Re: Pro tools le 8.0.3 crashes during playback or recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by darksun production View Post
so far what I've found out is that my external harddrive can't keep up with pro tools le (which is weird btw it works fine with logic 8 express and protools le which is on my imac g5) I've taken one of my heavier sessions off of my external hard drive and put it on the system drive and it works fine with all my plugins and all. So at this point Im looking to get a faster external hard drive cause that seems to be my problem. I hope that might help anybody else in this
crappy situation.
I think the Iomega doesn't use a compatible bridge chip - from what I can see it's using either a JMicron or a Prolific. Pro Tools is only qualified with drives that have an Oxford chipset.

One other question - are you using the drive with it's factory format? If so - that could be the culprit. Always erase a new drive using the OS X Disk Utility before using it.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-16-2010, 03:57 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,806
Default Re: Pro tools le 8.0.3 crashes during playback or recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by eight16 View Post
Dont worry...the problem wont go away...mines been messed up for 2 months now
If you can help us with some info on your system, we may be able to help you with the problems you're experiencing.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-16-2010, 03:58 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,806
Default Re: Pro tools le 8.0.3 crashes during playback or recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mothlight View Post
ive got 20 tracks and 6 plugins, with 10.6.2 and 8.0.3, and can't go a minute without it fritzing out, losing communication with my clock, giving errors such as h/w buffer (set to max [and every other thinkable combo] on a 2.33 macbook pro with 4gb ram), and Harddrive Underflow (whatever the hell that is)- and being an overall terror. I would be embarrassed to use this rig with a client. I'm at a dead stand still until this stuff gets ironed out.
The same goes for you as well - without all the necessary info, we're shooting in the dark.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Save during playback crashes Pro Tools gonsdeejay Pro Tools 11 27 05-28-2014 04:22 AM
Clicks in Pro Tools during recording and playback DanielWiklander 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-03-2011 12:01 PM
Playback gets lost or distorted while recording - Pro Tools 8/M-Audio Profire 2626 xiauoko Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 13 09-27-2011 03:39 AM
Pro Tools 7.4 freezes and crashes when recording - HELP! msv81 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 04-09-2008 08:43 AM
Pro Tools crashes when recording in 24bit spreing 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 06-07-2004 04:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com