Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2002, 11:41 AM
poppy poppy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Ireland
Posts: 348
Default Is DP3.1/UAD/Powercore an realistic alternative

I'd love to get some opinions from seasoned users on this one.
I'm considering buying a HD 2 system but it costs alot (for me anyway).
I got DP3 recently and I am really getting to like it!
I could buy a Dual 1 gig Mac and, a couple of 896 interfaces, a UAD card and a TC powercore
for alot less than A HD 2 system.
I think this would be awesome.
My main concern would be that I think Protools will attract clients and DP 3 may not.
What do you think?
[img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-25-2002, 11:44 AM
Digital Sound Lab Digital Sound Lab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Seattle, WA. 98118
Posts: 387
Default Re: Is DP3.1/UAD/Powercore an realistic alternative

I have not used DP but another alternative might be a used mix plus system.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2002, 02:31 PM
Philthy Philthy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 1,308
Default Re: Is DP3.1/UAD/Powercore an realistic alternative

You could do a lot with a system like you mentioned, but you're right about the Digi logo carrying some weight with certain customers. It's partly due to the fact that PT is widespread in studios and makes for easy compatibility. It's also got something to do with ProTools being designed as an audio platform first and a MIDI sequencer second, unlike DP. You might want to find a way to see a PT TDM rig in action before you decide. And that used TDM system mentioned above is not a bad idea.
__________________
Phil Mann
Silk City Music Factory - CT Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-26-2002, 09:10 AM
poppy poppy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Ireland
Posts: 348
Default Re: Is DP3.1/UAD/Powercore an realistic alternative

Bump! [img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-26-2002, 10:36 AM
scottgreiner scottgreiner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 884
Default Re: Is DP3.1/UAD/Powercore an realistic alternative

Latency and lag time on host-based systems drives me nuts! It doesn't seem like it would be an issue in theory, but in the real world it makes a huge difference. I've also heard that there is different amounts of latency between the host plug ins and the different processor cards. Ty keeping track of all that! At least in ProTools, you always have a readout of the plug in delay.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-26-2002, 11:27 AM
andyo andyo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 582
Default Re: Is DP3.1/UAD/Powercore an realistic alternative

Poppy - If you already use TDM I can't imagine going host based. But if you are a newcomer it may not bother you. We have 2 TDM rigs where I work and everytime I work somewhere else on something else I go crazy.

Most of our clients could care less about what we use as long as it's done ASAP and on budget.

We have a stable of composers that use everything from DP to the AMIII card, to Logic, to ADAT's - you name it, we deal with it.

Since I have to deal with a variety of situations - I prefer PT with Logic on the front end.

If I was setting up a home rig for my own use (which I am), I would have a tough time deciding which way t go (which I am).

I hope my vague reply helps! [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]

Andy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Realistic Drums (virtual)? xy44 The Drum Room 10 11-28-2011 10:43 PM
Realistic Potential 4 G3 LoRez LoFreq 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-04-2004 09:57 PM
Realistic Strings ? VanDerGraf 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 10-20-2003 06:07 PM
The most realistic sounds? Atana 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 08-30-2002 12:53 AM
Realistic Performance digi 001 Svenny 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 10-21-2000 04:11 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com