Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-03-2003, 09:26 AM
michaux's Avatar
michaux michaux is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 151
Default MODERATOR, PLEASE RESPOND-TRACK FADER VS. MASTER F

I posted this question to everyone and now I am more confused than before.

Should my master fader stay at unity gain to achieve the best resolution during playback? If I have to pull it halfway down to avoid clipping, would I get a better sound if I pulled the track faders down instead? Obviously this is a lot more work since I have automation and outputs of tracks feeding multiple buses to aux inputs with compressors, eq, etc. on 11 songs.

My mistake was mixing with an L1 on the master fader. Now when I take it off to get a mix for the mastering engineer, the output levels clip. I would like to just pull the master down but I am not sure that is the right thing to do.
web page
__________________
http://www.michauxmusic.com/

3rd LP Record - In progress, coming soon!
2nd LP Record - http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/michaux2
1st LP Record - http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/michaux
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-03-2003, 10:14 AM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: MODERATOR, PLEASE RESPOND-TRACK FADER VS. MASTER F

The digi moderator is not a tech, and therefore won't be able to answer your question at all. If you haven't gotten a satisfactory answer from the users here, your best bet is to take this question to a more technically minded forum, like The Prosound Rec Pit or maybe The Google Pro Audio discussion board. Also, have you tried the TDM forum? A lot of those guys are a little deeper into the way the software functions, they might give you the answer you're seeking.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-03-2003, 10:47 AM
pk_hat pk_hat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: grimy Brooklyn
Posts: 4,680
Default Re: MODERATOR, PLEASE RESPOND-TRACK FADER VS. MAST

You may also want to try this forum:

www.tapeop.com


Or reading this book:

Mastering Audio - The Art and Science, by Bob Katz


I think many people have taken a turn at holding your hand regarding this issue (no offense intended), perhaps a broader research on your end will help, as this extends beyond ProTools itself. There are many seasoned engineers at TapeOp, surely someone can nail it once and for all, providing you a good night's sleep.
__________________
www.myspace.com/krou
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-03-2003, 10:55 AM
AverageJoe AverageJoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 779
Default Re: MODERATOR, PLEASE RESPOND-TRACK FADER VS. MAST

I didn't read through the entire thread regarding this disuccsion so maybe this has been mentioned, but the issue isn't going to be with "resolution" as you call it, rather there is a theory that moving ANY fader causes more mathematical equations to be done, and therefore hurts sound quality.

There have been lots of tests done on this and to the best of my memory the theory is not very accurate.

Let your ears decide. Not your eyes. Turn down your fader, turn OFF your screen and just listen. And then tell us all what you find, so we can sleep at night too!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-03-2003, 10:57 AM
AvidCS's Avatar
AvidCS AvidCS is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Posts: 1,156
Default Re: MODERATOR, PLEASE RESPOND-TRACK FADER VS. MASTER F


Adjust your final output level with the master fader.

For more info read this;

http://www.digidesign.com/digizine/a...il03/techtalk/

(excerpt)

".....there is no data, or information, lost while mixing completely in Pro Tools, that no signal is lost when you pull a channel fader down below unity, and that there is no difference between setting all of the channel faders to -30 with the master at unity and setting the master to -30 with the channel faders at unity. As long as you're not clipping the output and are sending the highest possible output signal before clipping, then all is well."
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-03-2003, 01:12 PM
bzldzl bzldzl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 284
Default Re: MODERATOR, PLEASE RESPOND-TRACK FADER VS. MASTER F

Finally the answer, thanks digi. Thanks for bringing this topic up michaux.

Jason
__________________
2018 Mac Mini 3.2GHz 6-core, 32gig ram - OSX 10.14.4 - Protools Ultimate 2019.5 - HDX PCIE in Sonnet Thunderbolt 3 box - Apogee Symphony Mk1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
master fader and aux track alidav Pro Tools 10 3 03-02-2013 11:51 PM
Master Fader Track thumos Pro Tools 10 7 11-13-2011 06:20 PM
Master Fader for Stereo Track? Sparky1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-26-2009 05:17 PM
Master Fader Track Not Working. rennyren 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 04-16-2007 06:30 PM
Track: Master Fader Question Bonjourmate 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-27-2006 12:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com