Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-27-2000, 03:23 PM
Baixo Baixo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 215
Default How do you keep a mono/stereo plug-in mono?

I'm trying to create a mono reverb on a mono aux but when the plug-in list says (mono/stereo) it means it will make it stereo no matter what.

I am in stereo outs mode (and want to be...)

How can this be done?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-27-2000, 11:22 PM
Eric Bazilian Eric Bazilian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: St. Davids, PA, USA
Posts: 209
Default Re: How do you keep a mono/stereo plug-in mono?

Well, Baixo, it's like this...there's nothing you can do about the nature of the plug itself. If you use a mon/stereo plug as a channel insert (or aux insert...) it will create a stereo track.

Thus, simply pan the two sides of said track together to create mono...and if you've got panning automation on the track you can copy it from one side to the other to keep them together. I've used this workaround and it's just fine.

------------------
Eric Bazilian/The Mousetrap
"Music Is Good"
__________________
First the Ecstacy....then the Laundry
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-29-2000, 10:26 AM
Ang1970 Ang1970 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 433
Default Re: How do you keep a mono/stereo plug-in mono?

I'm still trying to figure out the question.
__________________

Cheers,
Angelo Quaglia
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-29-2000, 12:06 PM
Baixo Baixo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 215
Default Re: How do you keep a mono/stereo plug-in mono?

Sorry, ANG,

What I mean is I just want to have a genuinely mono reverb on a mono aux track without having to use the DSP for a stereo plug-in and/or "make" it mono by center-panning the stereo aux.

I wanna create a mono aux, and then using a reverb that says ("mono/stereo") in the plug-in menu, choose for it to be mono. What, pray, is a "mono/stereo" plug-in, if you can't ever make it mono?

I suppose I'll have to do the panning thing, but it seems stupid to have a structure by which you can make a plug-in mono/stereo and not have a way to keep it mono. The only reverb I know of that is really mono is the Realverb. Perhaps the D-Verb has a mono-only version, but, well, you know...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-02-2001, 10:36 AM
mike connelly mike connelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,317
Default Re: How do you keep a mono/stereo plug-in mono?

"What, pray, is a "mono/stereo" plug-in, if you can't ever make it mono?"

It's a plug with a mono input and stereo output. If you want mono output, you either need to pan it mono or use a different plugin that is mono/mono (which isn't available for most reverbs).

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-02-2001, 11:25 AM
Juergen Juergen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Asuncion, Paraguay
Posts: 301
Default Re: How do you keep a mono/stereo plug-in mono?

Baixo, what reverb are you trying to use? If it's the DVerb, just plug it into a Mono Aux, and select DVerb (mono) from the plugin list.

Cheers.

Juergen
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-03-2001, 09:54 AM
Baixo Baixo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 215
Default Re: How do you keep a mono/stereo plug-in mono?

Arse!

I'm trying to use the Lexiverb and TC in mono. I know the RealVerb and D-Verb both come in mono varieties. Bit of a shame you can't get mono versions that take up, say, half the DSP as a side benefit. I've been on a mono reverb kick lately, so this is why. There's something about the oldness of that sound that appeals...

[This message has been edited by Baixo (edited January 03, 2001).]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-04-2001, 11:06 PM
Ang1970 Ang1970 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 433
Default Re: How do you keep a mono/stereo plug-in mono?

In that case, my friend, what you want is a speaker, an omni mic, and a room.
Fuggeddaboudit.
__________________

Cheers,
Angelo Quaglia
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-05-2001, 12:03 PM
Juergen Juergen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Asuncion, Paraguay
Posts: 301
Default Re: How do you keep a mono/stereo plug-in mono?

who you calling Arse.

Hey, if you have a stairwell that resonates, you could experiment a bit with that. Heck, if your arse resonates, you could try it.

I am just kidding man. Yeah, that's a shame, the whole antimono compatibility thing...

I am sorry for my post man. I re-read it and it sounds insulting to other people's intelligence (in this case, yours).

It was out of place. Your name sounds Portugese/Brazilian.

Juergen
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What are the difference between using a "mono" vs "mono/stereo" plug in on mono track rockguitarist1255 Pro Tools 10 4 12-07-2012 09:07 AM
making mono track into stereo or double mono in PT7LE VeganMuso 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 02-02-2012 06:36 AM
A question about mono/stereo plug ins on mono tracks. rockguitarist1255 Pro Tools 10 2 12-24-2011 08:33 PM
Stereo Aux vs Mono Aux and Turning that Mono into stereo via a stereo Plugin JesseF 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 02-14-2010 10:01 AM
mono to stereo plug-in Ormond 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-23-2004 02:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com