Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-28-2021, 05:40 PM
TrackerLe TrackerLe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 287
Default HD Omni Revision HELP

Dear Forum


I bought a HD Omni...
In the Back of the unit, it says Revision E1, but when i use Setup Mode and go to Board, it says Rev A...
I am confused now, cause i don´t know exactly, which revision the unit is..
Its about the serial failure of the Mic Pres, which is gone with Rev E1 and F...
Why does it say Rev E1 on the back with the serial, and Rev A, when i use Setup in the Omni itself?


Thanks for help...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-28-2021, 08:51 PM
TrackerLe TrackerLe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 287
Default Re: HD Omni Revision HELP

Another question is for me...
My Rev D Omni works..., but i know Hot swapping 48V powered Mics destroy the Mic Pres...


Is it save to plug in a Neumann Mic into the Omni, when it is off...
And engage 48V Power, when i turn the Omni on? Or does this destroy the Mic Pre?


The last question, i have (promised)...
Is it save to engage 48v when the mic is connected and turn off 48v when i power off the Omni...


Thanks...



I dont understand the failure... Does it mean i always must engage 48v after powering the Unit and disengage 48v, when i turn the Omni off...


The Omnis were expensive, when i bought them and i dont understand, why there is no official note, how to use the Mic Pres in Rev A-D...
I think Rev E1 is the first Omni, where this serial failure is solved...


Pls help



I really dont know, how to use my Omnis, without destroying them...(Mic Pres)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-29-2021, 09:56 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,522
Default Re: HD Omni Revision HELP

Assuming when you say "save" you actually mean SAFE? It should be safe to do anything you described. I have never had any preamp, interface or mic get damaged by patching, whether on or off, or whether phantom power was on or off(vintage ribbon mics being the possible exception). Many people will turn phantom power off while making connections(good practice but not required) but I rarely even think about it(been at this for almost 20 years).

Not sure what "failure" you are referring to. As to the Rev discrepancy, I understand(and share) your confusion, but honestly, I would not worry about it. It could be that the unit was repaired or updated, or the 2 Rev numbers might be referring to 2 different things(the actual hardware and the loaded firmware?). As long as the firmware is compatible with your version of Pro Tools, you should not notice any difference in operation. Just remember that only a single OMNI can be used in a system. To add more IO, add another interface(such as an HD IO, a 192 or a 3rd party box that uses the Digilink connection).

READ THE NEXT REPLY AND TAKE MY COMMENTS WITH A GRAIN OF SALT
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave

Last edited by albee1952; 11-29-2021 at 05:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-29-2021, 01:03 PM
XJENSEN XJENSEN is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Gent, Belgium, Europe
Posts: 427
Default Re: HD Omni Revision HELP

Yes, the OMNIs prior rev E are notorious for blowing up their mic pres on phantom voltage spikes, like when (dis)connecting phantom powered mics with phantom on. Avoid at all times, though this should have been fixed on the board in later revisions, in which the failure should not be present anymore. A blown up OMNI repair with AVID will set you back around 1200 USD. The mic pre can not be repaired in itself, you'll need a new main board. On top of that, they'll usually send you another OMNI they have laying around, instead of repairing the one you sent in. You may get lucky, or you may get one back that has other problems.

All first hand experience.

Then, to your question, if you mean the revision sticker on the back of the unit, this can not be trusted, of course. You should really look at the PCB revision.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OMNI firmware & revision redbor Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 9 01-08-2014 04:24 PM
Be aware! Potential HD Omni buyers with treated Rooms and Computers. Omni Noisy Fan FRaNCo MuSiC Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 0 09-25-2011 06:42 AM
revision FOH Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 08-03-2007 10:07 AM
New Revision? emluper VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 03-28-2006 10:58 PM
which revision should i get is g the last one gould Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 02-22-2006 11:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com