Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-02-2009, 04:17 PM
ronlosangeles ronlosangeles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 37
Default Vista XP? 32 64?

I am not too technical.
Just bought a new computer with Vista 64. THEN discovered that PT 7.4 m-powered is NOT compatible with 64.

Have not opened computer box yet. It was a really good buy. Keeping it.

Can I just install XP on this new computer and go from there? Or is 64 bit also a HARDWARE thing.... and I can't use xp32???

At my job I have Vista Home Premium 32 and Mpowered works fine.
But I guess PT is NOT compatable AT ALL with 64..........right?
And won't be anytime REALLY soon.... like a month or so?
Thanks for advice.
ron
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-02-2009, 04:43 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,806
Default Re: Vista XP? 32 64?

Depending on the computer, you could either install another drive with XP (recommended) or partition your main drive and install XP on the other partition.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-02-2009, 08:51 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,411
Default Re: Vista XP? 32 64?

+1 on 32bit XP on a separate drive for now.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-02-2009, 09:43 PM
danander11 danander11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,014
Default Re: Vista XP? 32 64?

+2 for WinXP 32
__________________
Here I am,
after time not long...
and thankful for the break,
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista vs. XP ... Which one is better for PT8 ? Barbad 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 22 01-29-2009 02:04 PM
XP v Vista shea 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-20-2008 12:30 PM
Vista questions before taking the Vista Plunge Herkimer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 11-21-2007 09:23 AM
LE 7.3 (XP) -> LE 7.4 Vista? Gibb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 11-18-2007 05:59 AM
Microsoft announces Vista - Vista and PTLE myfm Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-24-2005 10:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com