Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-30-2007, 02:03 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,384
Default MIDI Sync issue

I'm trying to get PT to sync tempo with my Yamaha Motif keyboard. I've set the Motif to MIDI for MIDI sync, which means it should recieve MIDI clock data from an external source, such as a DAW, like PT. What I can't figure out is how I'm supposed to configure PT to send out the data. I tried to set the MIDI beat clock to the Motif, nothing. I didn't do anything with the MTC settings.

How do I get PT to send a simple MIDI clock out to the MOTIF so I can sync up arps and so forth?

I'm clearly overlooking something really simple. But, what , I don't know.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-30-2007, 02:07 PM
sinukus sinukus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 159
Default Re: MIDI Sync issue

Setup->MIDI-> MIDI Beat Clock. Check "Enable MIDI beat clock for" and check the port you want. That should be all you have to do.
__________________
Below Zero Beats on 92.7 FM San Francisco
Sundays 8pm - Midnight
http://belowzerobeats.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-30-2007, 02:20 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,384
Default Re: MIDI Sync issue

That's what I thought, but it doesn't work as advertised. My Motif acts as if there's no MIDI beat clock there at all, even though I set its MIDI sync to MIDI, which means it receives MIDI clock from an external source, like PT. I'm really stymied as to what the deal is.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-30-2007, 02:44 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: MIDI Sync issue

How is the motif connected?
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-30-2007, 02:45 PM
sinukus sinukus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 159
Default Re: MIDI Sync issue

What interface are you using to connect the synth? Does it have data lights?
__________________
Below Zero Beats on 92.7 FM San Francisco
Sundays 8pm - Midnight
http://belowzerobeats.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-30-2007, 02:50 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,384
Default Re: MIDI Sync issue

I'm using the USB MIDI connection. The MOTIF does fine as controller for, say, Xpand. I can record MIDI data to a PT MIDI track, or audio from the MOTIF if I want. So, I don't think my interface is the issue. And I'm pretty sure my settings for the Motif are correct with respect to receiving (rather than sending) MIDI clock data. So I'm stumped at this point.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-30-2007, 03:01 PM
sinukus sinukus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 159
Default Re: MIDI Sync issue

If you have an interface around try sending via that to the MIDI in.
__________________
Below Zero Beats on 92.7 FM San Francisco
Sundays 8pm - Midnight
http://belowzerobeats.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-30-2007, 03:28 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,384
Default Re: MIDI Sync issue

I'm not sure what you mean by an interface. And do you mean the MIDI in of PT or the MOTIF?
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-30-2007, 08:06 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,384
Default Re: MIDI Sync issue

Well, I'm still nowhere on this one. I also set up a MIDI track and selected the Motif as the input source. I can play all my soft synth plug-ins off the motif, and the controllers (pb, mod wheel, etc) all work just fine that way. And if I play a midi sequence, it will play on the motif just fine. BUT, I can't get the clock in PT to sync with the MOTIF so I can sync up arps, for example. I'd like to sync an arp off XPAND with one off the Motif and that is not happening, and I can't understand why. What is the equivalent command on PT that says "send the midi clock timing out to this module" ? I thought it would be the midi beat clock set-up, which I set to go to the Motif. But that doesn't seem to do the trick. What other step is there? I can't find it in the manual, or I'm not looking at the right instruction or something.

Can someone point me in the right direction?

Or, maybe the otherway, where the Motif clock out controls the tempo in PT. At this point, I'd take either one. Its frustrating. I just know its something really simple, but for the life of me can't figure out what.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-01-2007, 11:01 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,384
Default Re: MIDI Sync issue

Has anyone tried sycning up a Motif XS with PT? Surely I'm not the only person on the planet whose tried to do this.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pt10 midi instruments sync issue with audio digi003 Pro Tools 10 19 12-28-2013 08:23 AM
Sync issue, pro tools MIDI and MIDI controller, timing issue Angelo of Onello 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-29-2011 07:57 AM
Midi Timing Delay Sync Issue: MTC Sync daysean 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 01-22-2007 11:48 AM
Upgrade to PT 5 software? MIDI Sync issue digiman57 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-28-2002 07:00 AM
Sync Processor's Tremolo to Midi Time Sync via Interface j_jayzatuc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-01-2000 12:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com