Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-07-2023, 06:22 PM
DigitalDragon DigitalDragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Miami
Posts: 107
Default Re: headphones no sound

sorry for not putting specs
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-07-2023, 07:18 PM
DigitalDragon DigitalDragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Miami
Posts: 107
Default Re: headphones no sound

im thinking its a hp problem not pro tools or maschine. a setting or something i overlooked.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-07-2023, 07:46 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 18,506
Default Re: headphones no sound

Oh why are you faffing around wasting time with Windows audio and ASIO4ALL... if you want to work with Pro Tools you should forget this crap and buy a proper ASIO interface. Say starting with a Focusrite 2i2 interface, budget model but they work great. And you just plug your headphones into the 2i2 and it *will* work.

If you can't get a proper ASIO audio interface then I'd suggest giving up on Pro Tools and switching DAWs, especially to Reaper.

Who knows why your laptop audio is not working? Read "Help us help you" up the top of this DUC page. You've been on DUC for over a year and 70 something posts and should be doing better providing clear info, you are expected to provide all this info and more in your first post. Including a SiSoft Sandra report where we could then work out what *exact* model HP laptop you have and exactly what audio chipset it has and if it's headphone output is a discrete device or if it's only mirroring the main output.

If the laptop has a discrete headphone device you may not have have that setup correctly in ASIO4ALL, or your Pro Tools IO paths may not be set up correctly (delete and default all the Setup>I/O>bus and Setup>I/O>output paths and see if a separate headphone device appears).

It's maybe more likely the headphone shares the speaker audio, in which case the analog headphone is likely just not making contact with the headphone socket contacts correctly, maybe the socket or headphone jack is damaged. Even if sharing the speaker audio it may be you simply have the headphone volume in the laptop turned down, but normally you'd expect the headphone socket use to cause the laptop speakers to mute.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-07-2023, 09:11 PM
DigitalDragon DigitalDragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Miami
Posts: 107
Default Re: headphones no sound

this might be problem. this is the x. which is my headphones i think. how do i take off x?IMG_20230607_224432142.jpg

Sent from my moto g play (2021) using Tapatalk
__________________
Windows 11 pro i5
Pro tools Studio
16gb ram 500 memory
ssl 2+
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-08-2023, 02:24 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 18,506
Default Re: headphones no sound

Very likely the problem. Presumably your laptop has discrete headphone sound and that's the red cross device.

This red cross can happen because some other Windows app or Windows sound itself has the headphones open and ASIO4ALL cannot get access. There may well be other reasons.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-08-2023, 06:06 AM
DigitalDragon DigitalDragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Miami
Posts: 107
Default Re: headphones no sound

so, next steps should be? i opened maschine software press the realtek sst 2. and sound came from headphones, i tried to do same thing with pro tools and it messed up everything had to disable drivers to get it to work again?,

Sent from my moto g play (2021) using Tapatalk
__________________
Windows 11 pro i5
Pro tools Studio
16gb ram 500 memory
ssl 2+
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-08-2023, 06:51 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,834
Default Re: headphones no sound

Darryl has posted the next steps for your system.

The issue is that ASIO4ALL cannot get access to your output, so you need to locate the source of whatever is using it and either switch it to use another output or disable the program if possible.

The better solution is to get a proper ASIO interface. The Focusrite that was suggested is a proven interface and will work well with Pro Tools.
__________________
Will

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-08-2023, 07:57 AM
DigitalDragon DigitalDragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Miami
Posts: 107
Default Re: headphones no sound

i understand, i have interface already but im traveling need it more convenience for the road. anyhow, so something is using it? if thats the case how do i shut off. disabling it the headphone driver. hp has speaker/ headphone option. what could be using it?

Sent from my moto g play (2021) using Tapatalk
__________________
Windows 11 pro i5
Pro tools Studio
16gb ram 500 memory
ssl 2+
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-08-2023, 02:01 PM
DigitalDragon DigitalDragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Miami
Posts: 107
Default Re: headphones no sound

yes, disabling worked, had to choose sst2 from realtek then it worked. great news thanks with pc it changes on you the realtek settings i hope it stays this way thanks for help. peace.

Sent from my moto g play (2021) using Tapatalk
__________________
Windows 11 pro i5
Pro tools Studio
16gb ram 500 memory
ssl 2+
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Surround sound mix for headphones fretfingers AAX Plug-ins 10 07-17-2014 04:00 PM
No Sound Through Headphones houser8732 Windows 12 11-02-2013 01:20 PM
No Sound when recording through headphones RGrier Pro Tools 10 1 02-23-2013 09:26 AM
no sound from headphones? Darkk927 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 04-23-2008 08:07 AM
no sound from headphones simon123456789 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-19-2008 05:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com