Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-29-2009, 01:51 AM
Fastermouse Fastermouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Between the desert and the mountains.
Posts: 439
Default How do you pros compensate delay

I have watched some vids on manual compensation, and I know some nudge and some use time adjustment, but, all you guys that are constantly working big projects... How do you do it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-29-2009, 02:01 AM
KingFish KingFish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 2,659
Default Re: How do you pros compensate delay

Mellowmuse ATA is the only "Simple " solution to delay Compensation in LE - any other methods are to use the manual Time adjuster plugin, and ping a;; of your tracks for the right value.
__________________
David

- MacPro 6,1 Intel Xeon E5 2.7 GHz 12-Core 128 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
- HDX II Sonnet xMacPro Server
- 16x16 HD i/o x 6
- PT 2018.10
- OS X 10.14.4
- ProTools Dock / PT Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-29-2009, 02:05 AM
Fastermouse Fastermouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Between the desert and the mountains.
Posts: 439
Default Re: How do you pros compensate delay

So can I completely trust ATA? I hate to spend the $$ and still have to work around.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-29-2009, 02:09 AM
KingFish KingFish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 2,659
Default Re: How do you pros compensate delay

well its a learning curve - but once you figure out the workflow... it works.

it's not an "Along the way" solution to leave active while tracking etc...

Only really to be applied for final mixing - make sure you watch a few videos before you spend the money.
__________________
David

- MacPro 6,1 Intel Xeon E5 2.7 GHz 12-Core 128 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
- HDX II Sonnet xMacPro Server
- 16x16 HD i/o x 6
- PT 2018.10
- OS X 10.14.4
- ProTools Dock / PT Control
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-29-2009, 02:38 AM
spicemix spicemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 771
Default Re: How do you pros compensate delay

I use the Logic plugin.
__________________
Peter Jensen
spicemix
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-29-2009, 03:13 AM
Fastermouse Fastermouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Between the desert and the mountains.
Posts: 439
Default Re: How do you pros compensate delay

So, if ATA works, then why hasn't Avid made this a standard plug-in or a clone that is included w/ PT to deal with our number one bitch?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-29-2009, 03:29 AM
spicemix spicemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 771
Default Re: How do you pros compensate delay

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fastermouse View Post
So, if ATA works, then why hasn't Avid made this a standard plug-in or a clone that is included w/ PT to deal with our number one bitch?
Would you rather leverage that demand to sell a kludge for $49 or make people buy a whole new system for $$$$?
__________________
Peter Jensen
spicemix
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-29-2009, 03:35 AM
SeedGuy SeedGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 416
Default Re: How do you pros compensate delay

I tried ATA, and couldn't be bothered with the messing around. It's not so bad on simple projects, but as soon as you start adding subgroups and multiple sends it starts taking a bit of time. Although I have to say it's a good product for those who have the patience.

FWIW, I find nudging the audio a much simpler solution.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-29-2009, 04:52 AM
Loudnoize Ent. Loudnoize Ent. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 485
Default Re: How do you pros compensate delay

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeedGuy View Post
I tried ATA, and couldn't be bothered with the messing around. It's not so bad on simple projects, but as soon as you start adding subgroups and multiple sends it starts taking a bit of time. Although I have to say it's a good product for those who have the patience.

FWIW, I find nudging the audio a much simpler solution.
Same here.. Gave it a go and couldn't be bothered. I prefer nudging as well. Just reading all these threads the last couple days about ADC is certainly an eye opener for those of us, not wanting to dick around with this issue any longer and finding a better solution.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-29-2009, 08:13 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,547
Default Re: How do you pros compensate delay

I choose my plugins carefully and now don't give it a thought. By knowing which plugins have lots of latency, I simply choose different ones. For instance, I never use a "look-ahead" limiter on a track(or during recording). When mixing, those are okay on the master(but I usually leave all master plugins to a separate step in a mastering session). Honestly, the only time I worry about it is when I use Melodyne and I have a simple method for dealing with that that is dead-nuts perfect.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to compensate delay supersonic1000 macOS 2 10-01-2011 02:38 PM
Delay from Inserts, How to compensate CisumBlue 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 01-24-2010 09:47 AM
Compensate for Delay question Raggi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 10-30-2007 07:13 AM
compensate delay of UAD-1 plugins on aux-bus? fizzler Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 09-23-2006 02:23 PM
How to compensate for midi delay surchur 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-02-2001 11:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com