How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-21-2005, 03:10 AM

Default Adding some distortion/fuzz to a bass line

Hi guys,

Im currently recording/mixing a track that is quite stomping and the bass line could really use some fuzz/distortion on it to give it a reall meaty weight to it. Can anyone recommend a good approach to do this? I'm a bit of a noob at mixing, I'm more from the musician end so anytips would be well appreciated. I have the amplitude plugin but would consider investing in others if they are good. Also, would I need to use a limiter to keep the levels from overloading with too much gain?

Thanks.
LaCie 160Gb External FW800 HD
Alesis M1 Active MkII
Old 04-21-2005, 06:22 AM

Default Re: Adding some distortion/fuzz to a bass line

Try Lo-Fi in the D-Fi bundle, or send the signal out to an overdrive/distortion unit (remember to take into consideration your lines/levels). What I usually do when I want an effected bass is to setup two bass tracks. One clean, one effected. Blend to taste.

Oh, and I find a limiter to be a necessity on rock bass. The L1 is my personal fav.

rockrev
Old 04-21-2005, 06:38 AM

Thanks rockrev, can you give any guide on where to start with settings for these plugs?
Alesis M1 Active MkII
Old 04-21-2005, 07:33 AM

Depends on the source. I'd leave the bit crusher be, and just go for some straight up distortion . . . possibly a touch of saturation. Just play around with it. I'm not saying it's going to be *the* solution. Try it out and see what you think.