Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-19-2015, 05:37 PM
treeclimbr treeclimbr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 2
Default Random Factory Reset - WTH?

I've been using my PT / ER setup daily lately working on a project, went to start up this morning, same as usual -> start computer, start ER, wait till ER is fully booted, start PT, load current project. Got a "I/O settings have changed since last save" which made me go huh? And I looked over at my ER to see that EVERYTHING had reset to factory settings, including all of my saved presets.

I had the Sweetwater user presets package when I first bought the ER back in January, and I have been systematically overwriting presets with my own ever since. And now they are gone. I've searched the forums and all that I can find that seems related is this thread from 2011:

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=314417

And no, turning off and starting back up again, in every imaginable combination (in conjunction with PT/computer and stand-alone), has not yielded similar results in my presets restored. Just factory settings. And no, very sheepishly, I have not done a back up settings to computer save since February. Yes, my bad, and my lesson hard learned (safe to say that will never happen again).

But for now, moving forward, has anyone else experienced this completely random reset of user presets? Is there any way to recover my presets? Is it in there somewhere? Needless to say I am completely stunned at this and feel like I've been sucker punched ~ how can a supposedly world class piece of hardware be so unstable as to arbitrarily reset itself? (rhetorical, please don't waste your or my time answering that).

Any help, guidance, or practical insight will be most sincerely appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-20-2015, 02:47 PM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,921
Default Re: Random Factory Reset - WTH?

I'm sorry to say, but they are gone.
This happened to me once, and it taught me to do frequent backups from now on.

It appears to be a small number of users that have had this happen, and I agree it is strange.
__________________
Will

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-21-2015, 09:21 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,980
Default Re: Random Factory Reset - WTH?

Yep, happened to me once probably 2 -3 years ago. Hasn't happened since.

Taught me to ALWAYS save to computer when there is anything new in the User Presets before turning off the unit.
__________________
Brian

Windows 11 Pro | macOS 12
Pro Tools 2022
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-21-2015, 03:16 PM
treeclimbr treeclimbr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 2
Default Re: Random Factory Reset - WTH?

Well, puts us in a rare club I guess, though one we'd probably rather not have joined. I've since talked to a couple folks as well with deep ER experience and they hadn't even heard of such a thing happening.

The take away is huge ~ I will never again log out of a session without backing up any changed presets. I'm constantly tweaking and refining, and oh it hurts to start from square one again! Safe to say I'll never get caught like that again (knock on.. a solid body electric!)

Thanks for your confirmation gents, it's truly appreciated. And if anyone is reading this thread just out of curiosity ~ have you backed up your presets lately???
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just reset my macbook to factory! typhy macOS 23 12-31-2014 05:06 AM
Plugins on "factory reset" change sound??? lynx lynx macOS 5 04-30-2013 10:19 AM
Reset Pan on 003 Factory Jakub 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-19-2007 01:09 PM
-9073 and -6086 DAE Errors RANDOM, RANDOM, RANDOM mikerica101996 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-13-2004 01:08 PM
Random firmware reset Tom Virostek ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 6 10-02-2003 02:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com