Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2009, 09:09 PM
Chris Pettifer Chris Pettifer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 21
Angry More redundant hardware!

Now with the release of PTLE 8.0.1 we have the last version that will work with the original MBox (and Pre Intel Macs). Can Digi please explain why it is necessary to make a perfectly working device redundant? If it's because the higher sample rates aren't supported, I wouldn't call that sufficient cause to abandon the old MBox technology(I suppose there's my answer...make product redundant, create more sales). Plenty of users are quite happy with what remains to be an industry standard. You would hope there was a 2 way loyalty thing going on and Digi might offer a cross-grade to the newer MBox range rather than an un-necessary cross / upgrade to the 003 range. The MBox is portable, the 003 range not so. In the words of an infamous Australian xenophobe, "Please Explain!"
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-28-2009, 10:04 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: More redundant hardware!

I suspect they're killing the MB1 for 2 reasons:
1) it does not support CAD sharing with Pro Tools
2) it is not supported by the CAD that Media Composer installs
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-28-2009, 11:00 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: More redundant hardware!

I'm not sure what CAD is (Core Audio Driver?) but one the reason's its being dropped is that A) its been discontinued for some time now and B) The changes necessarily to get PTLE running on Snow Leopard break the MBox and they decided not to spend the resources needed to keep it supported.

Thats actually two reasons.

Digi was been dropping hints over the last couple of updates that it was getting harder and harder to update the MBox and that while they would support it for the near future the day would come when it would be dropped.

The MBox had a good run and was supported longer than the 001 if memory serves.

I would like to see a Mbox to MBox2 upgrade offered to those with original MBoxes since a lot of people hung onto them simply becuase they only needed 2 inputs.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-29-2009, 08:26 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: More redundant hardware!

yes, Core Audio Driver
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-29-2009, 09:16 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,860
Default Re: More redundant hardware!

Just because newer versions of PT won't support it, that does not mean you MUST update. I know plenty of folks that are running versions of PT all the way back to 5! (and I'm talking about commercial studios in Nashville). If it does what you need, keep using it until it dies(and then buy a used Mbox for $100 and go another 5 years).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-29-2009, 02:46 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: More redundant hardware!

The official word from Tech Support :http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread...=255276&page=4

It's moreso because of incompatibilities with new operating systems, i.e. Snow Leopard. They would have to write new drivers for an obsolete production. Hence, discontinued support. It would cost more time and money and it's not like they can sell more MBoxes.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
redundant e-mail! Terry Wetzel General Discussion 3 03-20-2012 07:15 PM
Selling redundant PT hardware - who owns it? TheLoneRoger Pro Tools 9 2 12-12-2010 09:06 AM
Redundant BNC borez VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 12-09-2010 09:49 AM
Redundant drives ? lemix Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 10-01-2004 01:24 AM
Mbox with pc when? Redundant?? bouncing balls 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 07-23-2002 10:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com