Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-27-2007, 07:12 PM
tempest1226 tempest1226 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 76
Default Help with creating midi session :)

Hi there. I was wondering if someone would be generous enough to walk me through something. Tomorrow i am finally upgrading from 6.4 to 7.3 as well as upgrading my imac to 10.4 from 10.3. (Only way pt7 is compatable. Anyways. I figured i would post this early to give sometime for some hopefully, fast response. I am trying to hook up and setup a DR-670 boss drum machine. ALl i want to do is be able to use the sounds from the machine and manually pencil the actual drums in on the midi grid. I have read over and over how to do this and i got as far as have a midi track open, an aux track open, setting the ins and outs. I have the Dr-670 hooked up with the midi cables as well as 1/4 cable into input 1-2. The thing that im stuck on is that im seeing signal in the midi track, but im hearing no volume. Im kinda hoping maybe someone can start from the beginning and step by step walk me through the process with everything from wiring to what should be enabled to the actual setup/settings for the dr-670 and protools. Im really excited to get this rolling so any help with this would be awesome. thank you so much if you got through this and im sorry if its jumbled. Im a newbie with this stuff. thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-27-2007, 11:34 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Help with creating midi session :)

Not familiar with the boss drum machine, but find out what you need to do for it to accept external MIDI as it's trigger source.

When you say you are seeing signal in the MIDI track, does that mean that it is being caused by notes that you are penciling in or from playing the pads on the drum machine?

The reason I ask is that if you want to trigger the boss from PT, then you should only need a MIDI cable going from ProTools-> out to the boss>-in.

What would be going on in this setup would be:

MIDI information is being created by the MIDI track in ProTools
It gets sent to the drum machine on a MIDI cable
The drum machine creates audio
The audio goes from the drum machine back into ProTools on the analog stereo cables in to an audio track or an Aux input

If the drum machine does not accept the external MIDI source then ProTools might send MIDI but the boss won't do anything with it.

If you have all that working (and you should be able to tell by listening to the boss with headphones) and still not hearing audio through ProTools, then something in your monitoring settings might not be right..
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-29-2007, 01:10 PM
tempest1226 tempest1226 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 76
Default Re: Help with creating midi session :)

Hi there. I cant get any kind of response from the DR-670. When I pencil it in as well as hit the pads i get the midi signal and when i record it will even put down notes on the midi grid but when its time to play it back. I get nothing. As far as the boss Dr-670 options for midi, its pretty basic (as far as i know) Heres the options for Midi.

Sync mode which is where you would select for the Dr-670 to be the master or the slave
Options to choose from are AUTO, INT, MIDI.

Setting the Midi channel
The values are from 1-16. It says they have to match the transmitting and recieving devices must match

Setting Device ID
The values to chooose from are 17-32

The last is Buld Send and Recieve

These are the options from the Dr-670.

All i want to do is have it so that i can pencil in on the grid the notes with the sounds from the dr-670
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-29-2007, 04:57 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Help with creating midi session :)

I checked the dr670 manual on-line and its a little confusing, but it seems to imply that you have to be in MIDI mode by pressing <shift> and keypad 14. Once thats set then you need to have ProTools send MIDI on the same channel as the boss (drums) is set to receive. Channel 10 is commonly used for MIDI drums but any should work as long as its the same in both places.. It also seems that you can control the bass sounds at the same time, but you will need a different MIDI track in PT and use a different MIDI channel as well.

The sync mode shouldn't matter because that seems to deal only with transport and tempo sync, but you can try to put it into slave mode if nothing else works..

For testing purposes, you might try disconnecting the midi out on the boss. What you are trying to do has the boss as the receiver of MIDI info, not the sender and having both happening at the same time could confuse the situation..
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-30-2007, 08:06 AM
tempest1226 tempest1226 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 76
Default Re: Help with creating midi session :)

I really appreciate everyones help with this and finally figured it out yesterday when i called boos's tech support (which is great by the way). The only thing i wasnt doing right was setting the channel to be the same channel the boss dr-670 was set to. The boss was on midi channel 16 and i had the midi track in protools set at channel 1. NEWBIE NEWBIE NEWBIE. haha. thanks everyone.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creating New Session From Old mrgroovy Pro Tools 10 1 05-07-2013 03:45 PM
Problems creating session Nvinther Pro Tools 9 3 09-10-2011 10:05 AM
Creating a new session Tom Glander 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 09-18-2005 08:46 PM
Creating an independent new session pugman84 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-11-2005 05:36 PM
Creating a stereo mix from 5.1 Session - how? Helge Krabye Post - Surround - Video 3 03-07-2005 02:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com