Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-18-2005, 01:04 PM
hjorte's Avatar
hjorte hjorte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 330
Default 18 mics in with a Firewire 1814 + 2xADA8000

Would an M-Audio Firewire 1814 + a Behringer ADA8000 (linked together via ADAT) + another Behringer ADA8000 (linked to the 1814 via its 8 x line out) give me a total of 18 mics in ?

Anyone tried it with PT M-Powered?

/Henrik
__________________
http://audiozone.dk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-19-2005, 06:49 AM
gtr4Him gtr4Him is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 8
Default Re: 18 mics in with a Firewire 1814 + 2xADA8000

Nope.

1814 has:

INPUTS: 8 analog + ADAT (8 Chan @ 44.1/48khz + Stereo SPDIF = 18
OUTPUTS: 4 analog + ADAT (8 Chan @ 44.1/48khz + Stereo SPDIF = 14

So in your scenario, you get 16 channels. Add a mic pre or AD converter with SPDIF output and you could get 18 channels.

TG
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-23-2005, 10:58 AM
James A. Abdo James A. Abdo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 43
Default Re: 18 mics in with a Firewire 1814 + 2xADA8000

The ADAT and S/PDIF on the 1814 are mutually exclusive, so the maximum number of simultaneous inputs is 16. The information below came from M-Audio tech support.

"You have a choice of either S/PDIF or ADAT. This means you can either have 16 simultaneous I/O with analog and ADAT, or 10 simultaneous I/O with analog and S/PDIF."
__________________
James A. Abdo
BrokenWorks Productions
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-25-2005, 09:43 AM
gtr4Him gtr4Him is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 8
Default Re: 18 mics in with a Firewire 1814 + 2xADA8000

Hey James,

Thanks for that information. I'm trying to decide if I want a 1814 or not. 16 is the max eh? Oh well, may just go the MOTU route and no PTLE.

TG
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-18-2005, 05:27 PM
cmrahm cmrahm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 42
Default Re: 18 mics in with a Firewire 1814 + 2xADA8000

Try the Tascam FW1804(002 rack minus PT) and an ADA8000. this will be both cheaper and easier than PT or the 1814. The tascam comes with cubase sx. If you go this route, be warned that choosing to go FW vs. PCI measn no built-in DSP routing/effects(Delta cards offer routing, EMU 1212m offers both). Just my 2 cents, and what I have learned by trial and error.
\-C-
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No other way than the Firewire 1814? shultzee13 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 08-12-2008 12:54 PM
How do you monitor with the Firewire 1814? The Dougfather Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 01-22-2007 03:09 PM
Mac Pro 2.66, Firewire 1814, 10.4.7 Imagine Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 7 09-21-2006 10:13 AM
Firewire 1814 Bill Pillmore Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 11-08-2005 04:38 PM
question about the firewire 1814 and others wreckthisplace Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 10-04-2005 02:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com