Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-25-2003, 11:04 AM
wild eyed wild eyed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 35
Default 888 audio interface and mixer question

In my 888 manual it states that the inputs are balanced,does this mean that i MUST plug my mics into a mixer with balanced outputs and then plug into the 888 to be able to record? or can i somehow bypass the mixer and go straight to the 888? im asking because i want to know if a mixer is important espically if i will be doing my mixing using protools.
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-25-2003, 11:39 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,492
Default Re: 888 audio interface and mixer question

This is such a basic question.. that it almost begs the question.."Whet the heck are you doing with a TDM rig?".

Basic audio engineering.. what's the difference between a Microphone and a Line level?

The 888 can be set up either as +4 or -10.. a microphone needs a lot more gain before it'll atain that kind of level.

A couple of book suggestions: Home Recording For Musicians For Dummiesฎ or Modern Recording Techniques.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-25-2003, 04:35 PM
wild eyed wild eyed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 35
Default Re: 888 audio interface and mixer question

ok sorry, i was able to record a vocal without using a mixer last nite, but i was told that i would require a mixer, without the mixer the vocal was slighly distorted, with a mixer would this be avoided?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-25-2003, 08:59 PM
Johnny Jam Johnny Jam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 118
Default Re: 888 audio interface and mixer question

You really sound like you are serious!!
Well, you need a preamp for the mic to get a proper level and avoid distortion. Many mixers has built-in preamps, but you can also buy a single preamp that connects to the 888. They range from about a couple of hundreds to several thousands dollars. Search for "preamp" and you should find many suggestions.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
advice about audio mixer stand alone, pt interface and lightpipe converter? alidav macOS 2 03-04-2014 08:31 AM
Mixer style audio interface jwilkers Pro Tools 10 8 09-22-2012 04:02 PM
Mixer vs Audio Interface Beng985 Pro Tools 10 5 06-17-2012 11:18 PM
Audio interface to analog mixer xterraguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-06-2008 12:55 AM
M-audio interface question Digiliz Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 06-19-2006 06:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com