Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-25-2022, 04:04 PM
landstrom27 landstrom27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Rock Island
Posts: 52
Default HD Native Power Supply

It's been asked many times but I have never seen it actually answered. Is there a way to purchase just the power adapter for the HD Native TB? I realize it is bus powered and it works fine that way. The reason I want one is because I noticed that when I have the HDN TB connected, the laptop battery drains aound 3 times (maybe even more) faster than when it isn't connected. So, I figure if I have the power adapter, that will save me a lot of power cycles on the battery of my new MacBook Pro. Another plus is that I won't have to disconnect it when I'm not recording. Every time I disconnect the HDN the MacBook restarts and there is a panic report when I reboot. The main concern is the battery usage. Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-25-2022, 05:34 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,291
Default Re: HD Native Power Supply

Just beware of grounding issues.

I had one HDN|thunderbolt bricked because of some strange issue with electricity. The bricked box went to Avid and I got a replacement, but I did not get (and did not further ask, because I was okay with the replacement unit) any explanation what went wrong. Just my educated guess that whenever you have too many interconnected cables and therefore too many possible ground loops, things may happen.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-25-2022, 10:37 PM
landstrom27 landstrom27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Rock Island
Posts: 52
Default Re: HD Native Power Supply

Wow, I wonder how common that issue is. Thanks for the heads up. How long ago did that happen? I wonder if there have been any revisions to the HDN or the power supply since then? I guess I'd be willing to take the risk. I'm going to try and contact Avid sales tomorrow and find out if they even sell a replacement power supplies. Maybe they would know who to talk to about any electrical issues
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-25-2022, 11:02 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,966
Default Re: HD Native Power Supply

Did Avid ever actually sell a rebadged power supply, all occurrences I've seen folks just grabbed a third party 1A/12VDC supply. Make sure you are using a center positive barrel connector on the power supply brick.

Would have to be a pretty horribly bad design for the power brick and/or Thunderbolt box for this to blow up the box... not saying that can't happen.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-26-2022, 03:12 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,291
Default Re: HD Native Power Supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by landstrom27 View Post
How long ago did that happen?
It must have been 2014-2015 (ish)
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-26-2022, 09:38 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,450
Default Re: HD Native Power Supply

I'm confused. If you have an available outlet to plug the TB box into, why not simply plug the laptop in and not run on battery?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-26-2022, 05:29 PM
landstrom27 landstrom27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Rock Island
Posts: 52
Default Re: HD Native Power Supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
I'm confused. If you have an available outlet to plug the TB box into, why not simply plug the laptop in and not run on battery?
Yeah that would probably be the best bet, at least until I can find a power supply. They say your supposed to unplug the charger once the battery is 100% and let it drain down to about 40% and that leaving it 100% charged all the time isn't good for it. But it might be better than going through 1 or 2 charge cycles a day. Maybe I'm overthinking it a little on long term battery usage,

Darryl, I looked at a picture of the power supply on the Sweetwater site and it looks like it is rated for 1.5 amps. I know it says 1 amp on the back of the HDN, but it probably wouldn't hurt to go with a 1.5 amp. So I'll be on the lookout for a 12v 1.5 amp center positive power supply.

I didn't get a chance to contact Avid, but I'll try and remember post what I find out
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-26-2022, 05:37 PM
Sardi Sardi is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,746
Default HD Native Power Supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by landstrom27 View Post
They say your supposed to unplug the charger once the battery is 100% and let it drain down to about 40% and that leaving it 100% charged all the time isn't good for it. But it might be better than going through 1 or 2 charge cycles a day. Maybe I'm overthinking it a little on long term battery usage
That’s outdated advice.

I remember that was the advice Apple gave back when I had an iBook. Now the suggestion is to leave it plugged in unless you need to be mobile. Occasionally disconnecting and running on battery power is advisable, but there’s no need to do the whole full charge, full drain, full charge routine like in the past.

Also, there’s all sorts of smarts on modern laptops. Like iPhones, they do trickle charges etc. to maintain battery health.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by Sardi; 09-26-2022 at 06:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-26-2022, 05:53 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,966
Default Re: HD Native Power Supply

Not only is that outdated advice, that cycling will reduce battery life.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-26-2022, 06:17 PM
landstrom27 landstrom27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Rock Island
Posts: 52
Default Re: HD Native Power Supply

Your saying cycling the battery is outdated advice? All of the info I've seen online says that's the way to do it for lithium ion batteries
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need a BIG 6 pin from cpu power supply to small 6 pin HDX power will this work recordingfun Pro Tools 12 1 04-05-2018 10:23 PM
Would this UPS (Uninterrupted Power Supply) protect and power my gear? D_Japan macOS 4 07-24-2011 05:23 PM
002 power supply/bad power harness? please help :( djkiller 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 08-07-2005 09:04 PM
Phantom power and mic with power supply? hotstuff 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-20-2005 01:56 PM
BAD POWER HARNESS/POWER SUPPLY!!??HELP!! snuffacation 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-11-2004 04:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com