Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-12-2014, 01:22 PM
the19thbear the19thbear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 239
Default Pro tools controller question

So i couldn't find the right place to post but here I go.
Basically I would like to control plugins in pro tools via HUI or some other protocol supported by pro tools. I would love to have a total of about 32 potentiometers - not endless encoders. I'm thinking of going the midibox.org way or some other back solution. My question is this: via HUI(or any of the other supported protocols) can you control more than 8 plugin parameters at a time? I seem to recall using a bcf2000 and a mackie controller that you couldn't but I could be wrong.

The mackie c4 seems really cool (although it has endless encoders) but it can't control deep enough and is mostly supported by logic and others. And to add to the questions: What other alternatives exist that can control more than 8 parameters - if any. Thanks!:)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-17-2014, 10:06 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,735
Default Re: Pro tools controller question

Hui can't do more than that. You need more data to make a decision. Need pre's or no pre's? How much you willing to shell out?
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-17-2014, 10:51 AM
the19thbear the19thbear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 239
Default Re: Pro tools controller question

No pres. And not willing to Shell out a lot:)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-17-2014, 10:54 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,735
Default Pro tools controller question

Used artist, I just got one and it's working great. Really nice control

Control - $800
Mix - $1000

Really nice features, also the x-touch from behringer is coming out soon. Only question is how much in depth control you will have over pro tools. $699
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-17-2014, 01:51 PM
the19thbear the19thbear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 239
Default Pro tools controller question

The behringer stuff looks nice. Just still don't know if I can control more than 8 at a time.. With some other protocol?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-17-2014, 02:04 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,735
Default Re: Pro tools controller question

Is supposed to feature a RtP protocol - but they won't tell you the ins and the out's of the functionality yet.
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-17-2014, 02:34 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,735
Default Re: Pro tools controller question

Be honest I want a c|24 to use with HD|N but since I can't get one a my price quick enough I went with a Artist,
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-15-2014, 12:22 AM
the19thbear the19thbear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 239
Default Re: Pro tools controller question

So no generic controllers that can control more than 8 parameters at a time?

Meh..bummer. Hope that the behringer one can.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-15-2014, 12:42 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Pro tools controller question

X-touch seems to have stalled - not even the distros know when it's shipping. More than eight parameters at once? How many fingers do you have?
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-15-2014, 01:16 AM
the19thbear the19thbear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 239
Default Re: Pro tools controller question

I was born with a total 70 hundred fingers actually. Located mainly on my eyelids and elbows. Looks kinda cool actually......eerhhhh ok sorry about that.

I just want things mapped out in front of me and i hate banks and layers. Would love to have, say 16 (or even more) controls in front of me. A variety of knobs/faders to program to make a physical "mirror" of the plugin. Makes sense?
:)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Controller question thruhiker Windows 8 04-05-2013 12:49 PM
Pro Tools LE Rack Question - Foot Controller stackjones 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-26-2011 04:54 PM
Pro Tools LE 8 Peripheral/Midi Controller Question sementilrp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 02-27-2010 11:27 AM
Complex Question: Pro-Tools And Incoming MIDI Controller Info. epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 01-04-2009 01:01 PM
Controller question clausiii 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 03-11-2004 06:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com