Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-2010, 01:40 AM
Guibara Guibara is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 13
Default PT 9 with no audio interface question

Hi guys,

I'm in the process of getting a Mac Pro to run PT9 without an audio interface, so I'm wondering what I'll need to get the audio out of the mac pro and into my Genelecs 1031s... ???? How about sound quality? Should I expect a not so good audio quality output straight from the Mac Pro?

At the moment I will be just working to video, mainly doing sound and music editing, some cleaning up of audio tracks and maybe some light rough mixing.

I'll probably get an audio interface down the line so I can also record some stuff... but for now I'll rather put all the money towards the Mac Pro and PT9 + Production Toolkit.

Any help will be much appreciated, thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-30-2010, 02:52 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,681
Default Re: PT 9 with no audio interface question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guibara View Post
Hi guys,

I'm in the process of getting a Mac Pro to run PT9 without an audio interface, so I'm wondering what I'll need to get the audio out of the mac pro and into my Genelecs 1031s... ???? How about sound quality? Should I expect a not so good audio quality output straight from the Mac Pro?

At the moment I will be just working to video, mainly doing sound and music editing, some cleaning up of audio tracks and maybe some light rough mixing.

I'll probably get an audio interface down the line so I can also record some stuff... but for now I'll rather put all the money towards the Mac Pro and PT9 + Production Toolkit.

Any help will be much appreciated, thanks!
Hi,

I would budget for at least a reasonable 2 channel interface for now! the built-in audio is ok for most stuff, editing etc, but not ideal for serious audio decision making.

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-30-2010, 03:53 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,273
Default Re: PT 9 with no audio interface question

You should at least have a decent DAC converter between the optical digital outputs of your Mac Pro and the analog inputs of your Genelecs. For example, an Apogee Mini-DAC

http://www.apogeedigital.com/products/mini-dac.php

Naturally your system would be compromised with the internal clock of MacPro but this would still be miles ahead of using the built-in analog line output of a computer.

A small interface could be better solution, overall, but your money is never wasted on Apogee so that's why this is what I bring up.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-30-2010, 07:14 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,844
Default Re: PT 9 with no audio interface question

You could even get something as cheap as an M-Audio Fast Track ($119). It would still be way better quality than coming out of the Mac Pro direct.

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/FastTrkUSB2/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-30-2010, 03:22 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: PT 9 with no audio interface question

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
You could even get something as cheap as an M-Audio Fast Track ($119). It would still be way better quality than coming out of the Mac Pro direct.

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/FastTrkUSB2/
What are the specs of the Mac Pro Intel HD audio?

What exactly makes it worse than a $120 interface?
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-30-2010, 03:44 PM
Guibara Guibara is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 13
Default Re: PT 9 with no audio interface question

Thanks for the suggestions guys.

The Mini DAC looks interesting, but a bit pricey I'm afraid. If my only option is to get a small audio interface, I may end up some type of MBox, maybe a used one from the previous generation.

I'll do some more research... if you guys have any other suggestions I'm all ears. :)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-30-2010, 03:46 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: PT 9 with no audio interface question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Park Seward View Post
What exactly makes it worse than a $120 interface?
A stereo 1/8" jack vs two individual balanced outputs.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which Audio interface for an Imac & Low latency question stof77 macOS 5 11-07-2012 06:50 AM
Audio Interface question tommytic Pro Tools 9 4 12-22-2011 04:38 PM
pro tools LE and M-Audio interface question crazypunk184 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-15-2007 12:21 PM
M-audio interface question Digiliz Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 06-19-2006 06:09 PM
888 audio interface and mixer question wild eyed Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-25-2003 08:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com