Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 04-19-2009, 06:53 PM
Bangha Bangha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 66
Default Re: Shan, Guitardom, Quad Gurus, God...anyone?

Hey folks just a second ago, i clicked on pro tools, nothing, once again ...nothing third time was the charm.

Heres a screenshot

http://s637.photobucket.com/albums/u...rent=3PTLE.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 04-20-2009, 09:43 AM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,557
Default Re: Shan, Guitardom, Quad Gurus, God...anyone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bangha View Post
Hey folks just a second ago, i clicked on pro tools, nothing, once again ...nothing third time was the charm.

Heres a screenshot

http://s637.photobucket.com/albums/u...rent=3PTLE.jpg
That shouldn't even be happening at all. Very odd. What happens if you just wait a few minutes after opining it the first time? Or...does it just hang?

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 04-20-2009, 10:04 AM
Bangha Bangha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 66
Default Re: Shan, Guitardom, Quad Gurus, God...anyone?

Most of the time it just hangs, maybe once out of ten times It'll actually run. Sometimes it hangs before the splash screen, sometimes during loading plugins. Sometimes ill get the only one copy of protools can run at a time, other times I wont like in the screenshot. It certainly isnt encouraging to see this baffles you as well! Dang it...
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04-20-2009, 11:30 AM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,799
Default Re: Shan, Guitardom, Quad Gurus, God...anyone?

you need to try to pull ALL the plugins out and dump them in your unused folder or something and then delete your databases and prefs, restart then launch pro tools.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 9900k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 04-20-2009, 01:40 PM
Bangha Bangha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 66
Default Re: Shan, Guitardom, Quad Gurus, God...anyone?

Ill give that a shot tonight when I get home, although Im pretty sure I've tried that before. Ill let you know how it goes.


thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 04-20-2009, 02:12 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,557
Default Re: Shan, Guitardom, Quad Gurus, God...anyone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitardom View Post
you need to try to pull ALL the plugins out and dump them in your unused folder or something and then delete your databases and prefs, restart then launch pro tools.
+1 on this. This is where the trouble shooting should start.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 04-20-2009, 04:10 PM
Bangha Bangha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 66
Default Re: Shan, Guitardom, Quad Gurus, God...anyone?

Alrighty then, Ill try that when I get home. Do you reckon I should use the tech support folder to do it?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 04-20-2009, 07:15 PM
Bangha Bangha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 66
Default Re: Shan, Guitardom, Quad Gurus, God...anyone?

Hey guys, just did what you said(via the tech support folder), it hung again. Before the splash screen, just for the hell of it I also gave it a shot only with my system drive plugged in, same result. So does this mean the problem lies when attempting to write databases to my hard drives?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 04-20-2009, 07:30 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: Shan, Guitardom, Quad Gurus, God...anyone?

have you run 'chkdsk' on your system ? sounds like bad install or bad disk or conflicting service. first 2 moreso than last IMHO
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 04-20-2009, 08:54 PM
Bangha Bangha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 66
Default Re: Shan, Guitardom, Quad Gurus, God...anyone?

I just did so...still nothing
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shan!! Need help_Reaper scar97 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 33 12-22-2015 06:36 PM
hey shan stixstreet 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 03-30-2009 06:17 AM
Hey Shan and other Quad Experts markus44uk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 23 03-24-2009 04:15 PM
QUAD - CPU Spikes - SHAN....... IntelDoc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 11-19-2006 07:58 PM
Hey Shan? Matt Whritenour 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-28-2005 07:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com