Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-18-2016, 05:10 AM
Righty27 Righty27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 1,065
Default Izotope VocalSynth

https://www.izotope.com/en/products/...ocalsynth.html

Sounds good based on the clearly Daft Punk-inspired demo. I picked up Waves Morphoder a while back after finding very few AAX vocoder/talkbox options at the time.

Looks like this is a significantly more polished/capable product from Izotope (as one would expect from them in 2016) and possibly why Waves were bundling theirs in a 2-for-1 plugin offer recently.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-27-2016, 05:31 AM
simon.a.billington simon.a.billington is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 896
Default Re: Izotope VocalSynth

I'm so tempted to get this. But I'm trying to save the cash at the moment!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-27-2016, 05:48 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,032
Default Re: Izotope VocalSynth

Wonder how it will do trying to cop a Dalek voice? I know the BBC used a ring modulator; not sure but some kind of distortion may also be in the mix. Excalibur came darn close but the rest of that plugin didn't do anything for me.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-27-2016, 07:45 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,735
Default Re: Izotope VocalSynth

Quote:
Originally Posted by simon.a.billington View Post
I'm so tempted to get this. But I'm trying to save the cash at the moment!!


Same here
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-29-2016, 07:21 PM
simon.a.billington simon.a.billington is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 896
Default Re: Izotope VocalSynth

I do recall the darlek's voice was done with a bit of ring modulation at a speed of around 30Hz. A large part of the sound is the performance however and how you speak into the mic or even yell though it.

The distortion most likely came from overloading the preamp or from tape. I've thought about this a while back and something I would have liked to give a try is passing the signal thre the REDD or EMI TG channel strips and try overdriving them a bit then running it into the Abbey Road tape.

This all might not be quite the right gear, but should give us something that sounds like a classic BBC sound. A lot of the effects were done through older equipment after all since the Radio Workshop ended up with all the ex-BBC Studio gear.

At least this would be my starting point...

Or you could just buy VocalSynth!! Haha!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-29-2016, 08:44 PM
bradch00 bradch00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lions Bay, Canada - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: Izotope VocalSynth

I was trying to do that save cash thing as well, PSP has new stuff, Izotope has new stuff..... whatever... it's only money.... picked up VocalSynth.... must admit it's a lot of fun, kind of goes outside my style though, most I ever do is cleanup vocals with Melodyne.... so we'll see if it gathers digital dust or not...
__________________
Pro Tools, Studio One Pro
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max 64GB-1TB NVME
OWC Thunderbay Mini (4TB SSD)
Interface: Presonus Quantum
Presonus Faderport & Faderport 8
Black Lion Sparrow Mk2 A/D, FMR-RNP-RNC, MIDI Xpress 128
BM5A, KRK VXT4, Equator D5
2020 Macbook Pro 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD Audio(mobile rig)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-30-2016, 05:53 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,032
Default Re: Izotope VocalSynth

Quote:
Originally Posted by simon.a.billington View Post
I do recall the darlek's voice was done with a bit of ring modulation at a speed of around 30Hz. A large part of the sound is the performance however and how you speak into the mic or even yell though it.

The distortion most likely came from overloading the preamp or from tape. I've thought about this a while back and something I would have liked to give a try is passing the signal thre the REDD or EMI TG channel strips and try overdriving them a bit then running it into the Abbey Road tape.

This all might not be quite the right gear, but should give us something that sounds like a classic BBC sound. A lot of the effects were done through older equipment after all since the Radio Workshop ended up with all the ex-BBC Studio gear.

At least this would be my starting point...

Or you could just buy VocalSynth!! Haha!!
Thanks for the info. I do have the REDD and TG12345 channels strips from Waves; don't have the J37 though. The ring mod I have is the Moog one from Avid. I haven't tried this combo together and will have to give it a shot. Right now I can't afford to buy something that might not do what I want. I know Izotope has a generous demo policy but then what do I do if I find out it does the job I want?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-30-2016, 10:03 PM
simon.a.billington simon.a.billington is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 896
Default Re: Izotope VocalSynth

Yeah, don't spend for the sake of it. Use whatever you already have that might get you an approximate simulation of a certain sound.

You should only really spend on stuff you really need... but wants do matter on occasions.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-27-2016, 08:32 PM
DJbrimLo DJbrimLo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Austin
Posts: 11
Default Re: Izotope VocalSynth

I grabbed as a backup option to Waves Morphoder. With proper edits and some creative tinkering with effects I've gotten some great sounds from it. I still haven't used it tho, so I can't say how it compares. I would imagine Vocalsynth can do more, or at least I would expect more from a Vocoder be developed and released 10 or so years after the face.
__________________
DJ brimLo
DJ | Artist | Producer | Engineer

djbrimlo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB iZotope RX 1.21 gwhatley Buy & Sell 2 04-05-2013 09:42 AM
Izotope RX2 thru PT Porky Post - Surround - Video 2 02-25-2011 10:48 AM
izotope spidera 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-13-2004 10:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com