Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-26-2013, 09:39 AM
bakedbeansrecord bakedbeansrecord is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: on a mountaintop in Maine
Posts: 39
Default Control 24 with HD Native PCIe card?

I know that the Control 24 will not work with PT11, but will it work with PT10 using the Native HD PCIe card?

I am currently using an HD3 Accel system running PT10 on an early Mac Pro 2007 with the Control 24 and a 192 I/O.

I am slowly upgrading toward PT11 as I can afford to do.

First, I am picking up a 2013 Mac Pro 5,1 12 core.

I already own an HD Native PCIe card (not installed yet). If I install this in my soon-to-arrive newer Mac Pro, will I be able to use my Control 24 with PT10 on this system?

I already know that I will need to change my Control 24 to a C|24 before I can use PT11.
__________________
Beans--the musical fruit.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-26-2013, 09:46 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,607
Default Re: Control 24 with HD Native PCIe card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bakedbeansrecord View Post
I know that the Control 24 will not work with PT11, but will it work with PT10 using the Native HD PCIe card?

I am currently using an HD3 Accel system running PT10 on an early Mac Pro 2007 with the Control 24 and a 192 I/O.

I am slowly upgrading toward PT11 as I can afford to do.

First, I am picking up a 2013 Mac Pro 5,1 12 core.

I already own an HD Native PCIe card (not installed yet). If I install this in my soon-to-arrive newer Mac Pro, will I be able to use my Control 24 with PT10 on this system?

I already know that I will need to change my Control 24 to a C|24 before I can use PT11.
Yes.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-26-2013, 11:44 AM
bakedbeansrecord bakedbeansrecord is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: on a mountaintop in Maine
Posts: 39
Default Re: Control 24 with HD Native PCIe card?

"Yes" I WILL be able to use the Control 24, Drew?
__________________
Beans--the musical fruit.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-26-2013, 11:48 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,681
Default Re: Control 24 with HD Native PCIe card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bakedbeansrecord View Post
"Yes" I WILL be able to use the Control 24, Drew?
YES! It works on 10



Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-26-2013, 12:05 PM
bakedbeansrecord bakedbeansrecord is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: on a mountaintop in Maine
Posts: 39
Default Re: Control 24 with HD Native PCIe card?

That is great news. I can now get setup and running and buy the C|24 later as my budget allows. Thanks so much!
__________________
Beans--the musical fruit.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-26-2013, 12:13 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,973
Default Control 24 with HD Native PCIe card?

I would not hold my breath for any long term (or even short term) future of the C|24 given the existence of the S6. And assuming as the S6 shakes out in the field neither would I want a C|24. Hopefully the S6 modularity will shine here, maybe more than is implied by the current base configs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Pro don't recognize HD Native PCIe card sc-30 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 11 02-19-2014 01:40 AM
HD Native PCIe card--which slot bakedbeansrecord Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 11-29-2013 07:52 AM
Native Card Pcie and 96 i/0 $1200 dvodesilva Buy & Sell 0 08-27-2013 09:09 PM
Avid Native PCIe Card blackc7 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 28 07-20-2013 10:07 AM
PT HD Native or PT9 with PCIE card jcolagross Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 1 04-28-2011 09:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com