Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-11-2011, 10:46 PM
Status Flow Status Flow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Default Doing a Pro Tools 9 Crossgrade - what do I need?

Hello, about 2 years ago I bought an MBox 2 and Pro Tools LE 7.4. I haven't had time for recording for a little while but now I do and I see that my Pro Tools version is outdated. I plan to start recording again and want to update my Pro Tools for as cheaply as possible.

I am a student and I'm looking at the available student discount options. I have money saved up and plan to buy a Macbook Pro, so by going here: http://www.studica.com/us/en/Avid/avid_pro_tools_9.html

I see a few options, I would assume that if I have the original serial number of my Mbox 2 (I also have the original authorization code) that I would be able to get the "Win/Mac Download - Student- Crossgrade from Pro Tools LE" option. However, it says that I need an iLok. What exactly is that? Also, I used Pro Tools for Windows XP, but now plan to install it for Mac, am I good to go (outside of an iLok) or am I missing any pieces for a smooth upgrade?

Thanks for your help in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-11-2011, 11:53 PM
mix109 mix109 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Athens/Greece
Posts: 618
Default Re: Doing a Pro Tools 9 Crossgrade - what do I need?

Version 9 uses a dongle for the licence_instead of a serial no like the earlier LE Version use,and requires an ilok.
So you need to set up an free account at ilok,buy an ilok(50$) and then follow the crossgrade procedure,that also requires your MBox serial no.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-13-2011, 02:53 PM
TheSon TheSon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Durham County, England
Posts: 4
Default Re: Doing a Pro Tools 9 Crossgrade - what do I need?

Hi, I am intending to do the same thing, I have M-Box2 with PT LE 7.4 and I want the crossgrade to PT9. I have some questions though and would appreciate any answers anyone can offer:

I understand that I will need iLok to run PT9. With PT LE the Mbox2 was the interface and protection. Once the crossgrade is done can i run PT9 without the MBox and just run it with the iLok?

Along the same lines as that question, will the crossgrade include all the features and functionality as a full version purchase, e.g. could i start using my other third party interfaces etc?

Thanks,
Jason.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-13-2011, 03:53 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,842
Default Re: Doing a Pro Tools 9 Crossgrade - what do I need?

Yes to both questions.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-14-2011, 03:47 PM
MotifMan MotifMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 48
Default Re: Doing a Pro Tools 9 Crossgrade - what do I need?

Just don't do it if you have upgraded to Lion. I just did today and now nothing works.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-15-2011, 08:33 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,933
Default Re: Doing a Pro Tools 9 Crossgrade - what do I need?

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=304602
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Motherboard: Gigabyte Z690 AERO D
CPU: Intel Alder Lake Core i9-12900K
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D15S
RAM: Corsair Vengeance DDR5 64GB (2x 32gb 5200MHz)
Drives: 2 x Samsung 980 Pro 2TB NVME PCIE 4.0 M.2 SSD (Record & Samples)
1 x Samsung 980 Pro 1TB NVME PCIE 4.0 M.2 SSD (OS Win 11 Pro)

GPU:Gigabyte GeForce RTX 3060 12GB GDDR6 PCIE 4
PSU: Corsair HX Series HX850 Platinim
CASE: Fractal Define XL R2
PT 11HD (v11.3.2) Omni s/pdif <> AxeFxIII
HD 96I/O
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Pro Tools LE 8 (including Mbox) with Pro Tools 9 Crossgrade ForristerMusic Buy & Sell 1 06-01-2013 04:43 AM
hi i have pro tools express and i just boguht the crossgrade to pro tools x rickluque12 Windows 4 12-24-2012 08:31 AM
free upgrade to pro tools 10 from Pro Tools 9.0 Crossgrade from LE Student Rikki Andersen Pro Tools 10 4 06-23-2012 02:57 PM
Pro Tools 9 Crossgrade kibarra90 macOS 3 03-24-2011 02:06 AM
what different between Pro Tools 9 (full version) & Crossgrade from Pro Tools LE 9 hattom Pro Tools 9 2 11-22-2010 01:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com