Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-26-2023, 08:53 PM

Default Is Waves committing a crime?

I thought this was an early April fools Joke.

Its like buying a condo you think you own only for the bank and developer to say. Oh no: you just rent forever! If I was a lawyer I would start a class action. Such mendacity!!! pissed off beyond belief!!

B
Old 03-26-2023, 09:22 PM

Default Re: Is Waves committing a crime?

Yeah, they had the Waves plan which was cool as you could get it when you it worked out.

I have a felling they will end up with a hybrid in the future as when they stop supporting OSeses (southpark ref) and people stop their subs.

On the other side, if you were a Mercury plus Abbey Road owner, its actually cheaper.

For some it will work, others it will not. Waves will find that they will need to bring back people when it doesn't work out.
Almost every plugin
Old 03-26-2023, 09:25 PM

They’re not taking away ownership of your perpetual licenses. They’re taking away the ability to update your Perpetual licenses. Thus making them useless after a certain point due to OS updates or DAW updates.

Not defending this action at all. It’s questionable business practice for sure and the uproar will continue for a bit. Whether or not they flex as a result is to be determined.

Based on reactions so far, it’s not going favorably for Waves.
Old 03-26-2023, 09:42 PM

I’m going to be gentle about this but no. They are not committing a crime. The nutters who are saying “class action” have no understanding of laws.