Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-21-2017, 12:39 PM
rstreber rstreber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 84
Default clock changes to 192k when I quit PT? [solved]

Since I upgraded to PT 12.8, I'm having the frustrating problem that whenever I quit Pro Tools, my interface (a Burl Mothership connected via Digilink to the HDX card) switches to 192k. I never run at 192, and it's been causing problems with other gear that's clocked to the Burl (which is the master clock source in my setup.) Does anyone know why this happens and how I can change it?

Again, this only happens when I quit Pro Tools and am not running it. As soon as I start up PT, the Burl switches back to whatever sample rate I was last working at. But as soon as I quit, it goes back to 192k. This was never a problem before the upgrade. Anyone else experiencing something like this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-21-2017, 12:53 PM
jjnssn jjnssn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 536
Default Re: clock changes to 192k when I quit PT?

Not with my Apollo units or my HD I/O. Can you manually change your Burl to say 44.1 and then launch and quit pro tools and see if still goes to 192? Is there a separate driver interface for the burl that might set the sample rate?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
____________________________________________

W10 Pro / X99 / E5-1650v3 / 64GB ECC / nVidia P1000 / ASUS TB3 AIC
PT HDX1 / OMNI / HD IO 16x16 / 11R / Kontakt Kontrol S49 / Artist Transport and Mix / UAD OCTO Satellite, Apollo Twin MKII &, x8P Thunderbolt

[Late 2013 10.14 MacBook Pro]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-21-2017, 01:08 PM
rstreber rstreber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 84
Default Re: clock changes to 192k when I quit PT?

There are no drivers or downloads for the Burl that I know of (no "downloads" link on their website, for example.) And in order for it to work as a Digi interface, the "clock control" switch needs to be set to DAW, meaning that the sample rate can't be changed manually at the unit while still interfacing with PT as far as I'm aware.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-21-2017, 01:33 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,596
Default clock changes to 192k when I quit PT?

What does Burl say? Considering that they and all other companies that offer digilink other than Avid, have reverse engineered Avid’s protocol without permission, it’s on them to make it work.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-21-2017, 01:45 PM
rstreber rstreber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 84
Default Re: clock changes to 192k when I quit PT?

I'll ask them to see if they have any ideas, just curiout if this was something that anyone else was experiencing with other interfaces. I've never had a problem like this with the Burl and PT in the past, and it definitely started once I upgraded to 12.8. I'm not sure if something changed with PT or the new HD driver, but I'm hoping to find a fix regardless.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-21-2017, 01:52 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,596
Default clock changes to 192k when I quit PT?

Have you tried rolling back to 12.7 to see if the problem goes away? That would be useful information to Burl. Also do you happen to have an Avid interface to test?
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-21-2017, 02:40 PM
rstreber rstreber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 84
Default Re: clock changes to 192k when I quit PT?

I actually jumped from 10.3.1 straight to 12.8, and I haven't tried rolling back to earlier versions of 12. I did briefly run the system on 12.4 a little while back and didn't have this problem as far as I can recall. (I had plenty of other problems with 12.4, but not this one!)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-22-2017, 03:36 AM
KimSira KimSira is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 130
Default Re: clock changes to 192k when I quit PT?

Your problem sounds familiar to me for some reason.
I think when I went to 12.8 my interfaces did the same - (Digi blue interfaces).
I've got a feeling that when I installed the core audio driver it was set to 192kHz in there somewhere.

Worth a look.

Cheers
Kim
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-22-2017, 10:38 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 2,029
Default Re: clock changes to 192k when I quit PT?

I occasionally see this on my rig (HDX 12.7.5, Avid HD 192s) - since it doesn't create a problem for me, I've never bothered to track it down, but it does sometimes behave that way. I don't think it's 12.8 or Burl-related.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.14.6, PT 2021.10 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24, 3xS1/Dock.
Also running a 2013 nMP / HDX / S6
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-22-2017, 11:51 AM
Benny_Cha_Cha Benny_Cha_Cha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 536
Default Re: clock changes to 192k when I quit PT?

This happens to me too on 12.7 and 12.8. It's a pro tools issue. Lynx tech support told me about this recently. I hadn't even noticed it until they pointed it out. It has something to do with what happens when HD releases the driver to the Mac OS after shutting down pro tools.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Ben Rubin

Producer//Mixer//Bassist//Composer

benrubin.com

------------
PT Ultimate 2021.10, MacBookPro i9 8-core 2.3gHz, 32Gb RAM, Mac OSX 10.15.7, SSD boot drive, SSD sample drive,
Neve 8816, HD Native PCIe, Apogee DA-16X, Lynx Aurora 16, Benchmark DAC-1/ADC-1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10HD won´t sync to word clock [SOLVED] Simon Johansson Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 01-31-2016 01:49 AM
Pro Tools refuses to quit. Have to force quit. SD2 Pro Tools 10 13 01-23-2014 09:21 AM
003 R+: Quit PT, open CoreAudio Manager = no sound!! (><) SOLVED UltraNEO* 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-04-2009 12:05 PM
automation quit working on one chnl.. (solved) tim carter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 06-22-2007 09:34 AM
Clock problem solved, but still somewhat unsure ryanstack 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 11-30-2005 02:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com