Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-21-2021, 03:24 PM
V^6Chris V^6Chris is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Benston
Posts: 2
Default I want delay compensation

question

Last edited by V^6Chris; 10-29-2021 at 07:29 AM. Reason: delete
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-23-2021, 04:06 PM
groovebrother groovebrother is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: france
Posts: 457
Default Re: I want delay compensation

if you want to stay with your G4 then you should look for HD core card (pcix) and 3 accel cards (pcix). You probably will have to buy a new pro tools licence and would recommand PTHD8. The only problem will be to find tdm plugins but i guess you can find them on ebay.
But in case you'd mostly process with outboard gear, plugins might not be your priority.
But if you run pro tools hd 8 you will have to buy at least 192 i/o digidesign which you can find them on 2nd hand market between 250 & 400€ and would even better than your rme setup.



pcix cards are really cheap nowdays.


Now that been said if you want to keep on going with rme you will have to find a PTHD9 or in best cases PTHD10 licence and a mac pro 5,1 snow leopard compatible. But in that case you will need exact same core & accel cards but in pcie versions. Just a tiny bit more expensive but with some luck afforable between 200 & 300€ each. I have seen some guys selling one core + 2 accels for 300€ the hole thing. And sometimes with a PTHD10 licence included.


Good luck
__________________
My soundcloud page
Mac Pro 2x 2.66GHz 6-Core / 80 Go Ram / PE6R4-i - HD Native - Tempo Sata Pro 6Gb - PTHD : 10 / 11 /12 / Ultimate - 192 i/o Digidesign - MTPAV - OSX : 10.6.8 / 10.8.5 / 10.9.5 / 10.11.6 / 10.13 - PowerMac G4 MDD / Pro Tools HD 5.3 / 6 / 7 / 8
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-23-2021, 04:19 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,443
Default Re: I want delay compensation

PT 6.4.1 for MIX and HD should authorise with same serial number, but uninstall/reinstall is probably needed because of different drivers. I do not really know because I always install from empty hard drive, but I have a hunch.

First of all make sure you have that serial available before you do anything, because once you start messing around and find you don't have that serial you cannot even revert back to your current setup. You can of course try with simply swapping the cards and see if it works.

BUT... and this is a very big but...

G4 can only take the old style PCI cards which means they top at PT version 8.0 (if your computer can run OSX 10.5 Leopard) so if you are planning to upgrade, buy such a (latest generation) PowerMac G5 or Intel Mac Pro that accepts PCI-express cards. With those cards you can go up to latest PT10 before Avid switched to 64-bit only.

If you do that, and I mean upgrading from 6.4.1 to PT8 or PT10, you need to update *all* plugins as well. Those old plugin installers are becoming hard to find, so bear that in mind when you decide what to do.

Interfaces you do not need to change, they are good even with the current PT version.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2021, 03:06 PM
c-post c-post is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Winnetka, CA, USA
Posts: 527
Default Re: I want delay compensation

Hey Chris~ Just for the record, my system seems to be almost exactly like yours. OS 10.3.9, PT 6.4.1. 2 ADAT bridges. I think I have a mix 24 card and a couple of farm cards in an expansion chassis.

Sorry, I am not clear what you meant by "upgrade to delay compensation so I can parallel process without phase issues."

At any rate, 10.3.9 and 6.4.1, as I understand it, is not upgradeable to any higher versions. To go to a higher version would render all of my gear unusable.
Correct me if I am wrong.

yours

JCG
__________________
"TISH! You spoke PROTOOLS! Speak some more protools, Tish... disk allocation, degree of thinning, timeline insertion...ANYTHING!"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-25-2021, 03:30 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,443
Default Re: I want delay compensation

I think he meant upgrading to HD cards which do work in PT 6.4.1 but in a HD system you need to have at least one HD interface, and if you want to use two ADAT bridges you need two HD interfaces to run two legacy boxes. Also need to be at least HD2 as one DigiLink cable can only take 32 i/o, and two HD's plus two Blackfaces would mean 64 i/o
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-27-2021, 12:45 PM
groovebrother groovebrother is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: france
Posts: 457
Default Re: I want delay compensation

i don't remember when was ADC released - PTHD8 or 7 ?
i don't remember having it on PTHD6.x
__________________
My soundcloud page
Mac Pro 2x 2.66GHz 6-Core / 80 Go Ram / PE6R4-i - HD Native - Tempo Sata Pro 6Gb - PTHD : 10 / 11 /12 / Ultimate - 192 i/o Digidesign - MTPAV - OSX : 10.6.8 / 10.8.5 / 10.9.5 / 10.11.6 / 10.13 - PowerMac G4 MDD / Pro Tools HD 5.3 / 6 / 7 / 8
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-27-2021, 01:28 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,443
Default Re: I want delay compensation

Quote:
Originally Posted by groovebrother View Post
i don't remember when was ADC released - PTHD8 or 7 ?
i don't remember having it on PTHD6.x
ADC was introduced in 6.4 which is why it was paid upgrade for TDM systems
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aux Routing Weirdness / Ping-pong Delay Messes Up Delay Compensation MKZ Pro Tools 2018 2 11-22-2019 05:08 AM
help fixing plugin delay and delay compensation disaster prestonhavill macOS 14 12-24-2014 04:35 PM
Pro Tools 9 Delay and Delay Compensation on Aux Tracks and Bussing CNSound macOS 1 01-27-2012 12:10 PM
Delay compensation- choice of 'Medium delay'? dtmprod Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-06-2010 12:00 AM
Delay Compensation - Delay Monitoring when REC Howardk Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-18-2006 09:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com