Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-2006, 03:38 PM
producermandan66 producermandan66 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 16
Default I can see the signal but I can\'t hear my keyboard?

Dear PT People,

Please help me out. I am new to PT & I have an MBox & PTLE ver6.7 on a G5 with OSX. My problem is that I can't hear my keyboard (M-Audio keystation 49e) but I can see the signal comming through when I press record. The box with the 127 options for the Midi instruments is showing up under the Midi track so I see that PT knows what keyboard it is. I tried recording other instruments & didnt have any problems listening to them after so I dont understand why I dont hear anything from the Midi track.
All the volumes are up & I have either muted all the other tracks when trying to listen to the Midi or just tried to record it as the only track in the session with the same outcome. If this sounds familiar to anyone & they know what I can do then please help me out. Thank you very much
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-30-2006, 04:20 PM
grindx grindx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 185
Default Re: I can see the signal but I can\'t hear my keyboard?

What instrument are you triggering? A virtual one? The Keystation is just a controller. I think what you are seeing is nothing more than midi information from the Keystation.
__________________
2.5 GHz Quad Core G5, 2.5 Gb DDR2 SDRAM, 002R w/Black Lion mod (mic pre's, A/D and clock). PT 7.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-30-2006, 05:11 PM
Andrew814 Andrew814 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 87
Default Re: I can see the signal but I can\'t hear my keyboard?

I'm not an expert at all, but I remember having this problem awhile ago too. What I remember doing was making an aux track to moniter it through. I think also you should be able to route the signal back to the keyboard via midi, and you can listen through the headphones on your keyboard. I remember it being something along those lines. I could be totally wrong, but thats just what I remember doing.
__________________
Work: Mac Pro 2.93 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon, OSX 10.6.8, 8 GB RAM, Digi 003, PT 10.3.9 +CPTK

Home:2013 nMac Pro 3.5 GHz 6 Core Xeon E5, OSX 10.10, 16 GB RAM, UA Apollo Quad Thunderbolt, PT 11.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-30-2006, 05:42 PM
producermandan66 producermandan66 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 16
Default Re: I can see the signal but I can\'t hear my keyboard?

Honestly, Im just trying to get any sound at the moment (from the keyboard), maybe after I can get one I will understand how to go through the rest. I saw that there were suppose to be many configurations available & I just clicked on one of the numbers in the Midi box) but still didnt get any sound. I really wish I had something a little bit more confusing than this but I am reading the ke¥board manual over & over. Thank you very much for your input, this rookie is having a hard time:)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-30-2006, 05:57 PM
producermandan66 producermandan66 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 16
Default Re: I can see the signal but I can\'t hear my keyboard?

Thanks a lot for ur input, the keystation doesnt have headphone inputs but I will try the routing that you mentioned. Thank again for your time & help
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-30-2006, 09:33 PM
Shawn Simpson Shawn Simpson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,948
Default Re: I can see the signal but I can\'t hear my keyboard?

You should probably take some time and watch the Method One DVD that came with your system and checkout the Pro Tools Accelerated Videos with Phil Jackson. Working with MIDI instruments is the simplest and most complicated thing you'll do in Pro Tools. Here's a few things to understand:

1. MIDI is not sound.

2. When you hit the keys on your keystation (which is only a controller and not capable of generating sounds itself like other keyboards), the meter you see is simply an activity meter.

3. You have to feed that data to an instrument to make the sound.

Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-30-2006, 11:08 PM
grindx grindx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 185
Default Re: I can see the signal but I can\'t hear my keyboard?

As it was just mentioned in the last post, MIDI is not audio. It is control information like On/Off, pitch, velocity, sustain, aftertouch, pitch bend, and patch change. You need a synth engine or sampler to generate a sound. You can choose from either a software based one like Reason or a hardware based one like Roland's V-Synth. The Keystation is nothing more than a controller (No internal sounds). The signal you are seeing is just telling you that MIDI (Musical Instrument Digital Interface) info is being transmitted.
__________________
2.5 GHz Quad Core G5, 2.5 Gb DDR2 SDRAM, 002R w/Black Lion mod (mic pre's, A/D and clock). PT 7.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-31-2006, 08:39 AM
producermandan66 producermandan66 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 16
Default Re: I can see the signal but I can\'t hear my keyboard?

Unfortunately there werent any instructional video's that came with the keyboard, but I am gonna watch the videos on the link that you gave me. Thanks a lot for your help & time, really
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-31-2006, 08:41 AM
producermandan66 producermandan66 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 16
Default Re: I can see the signal but I can\'t hear my keyboard?

Thanks again for your time & info buddy I am gonna try to study everything again today & maybe I will be able to get it working. I hope you have a great New Years & thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-31-2006, 10:11 AM
dkstudios dkstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SLC UTAH
Posts: 126
Default Re: I can see the signal but I can\'t hear my keyboard?

Have you tried switching to the "Input Monitor" instead of auto input....

Also, try to record enable the track.......create audi0 track, for the midi track....record enable!
Also make sure output channel is set to proper output.......like analog 1 2, spdif etc....

if you see signal, it is one of those 3 things.........
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I see no signal but I hear a sound. HB1978 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 08-29-2010 07:07 AM
Should I hear signal with pre turned down? Idahoguide 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-09-2009 05:00 PM
PT 7.3 Can't hear signal after record enable Celestial 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-05-2007 02:25 AM
Can't hear MIDI signal firstbass 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-18-2005 07:31 PM
synced with pro tools- see signal, but can't hear signal- HELP!!!! hitwriter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-30-2002 10:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com