Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-15-2002, 02:15 PM
John H John H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Northwest England
Posts: 809
Default Re: looooonnnng delay before record starts

I thought the digi001 wasn't supported on the beige G3s ?

I used to get quite long delays before it would record when I was just using my internal IDE drive (5400rpm fireball, not a good drive). I can run all 24 tracks at 24 bit 48Khz off my second drive (7200rpm deskstar), no delays on record or playback at all.

Obviously, you're disk cache should be set to 512K and you should be running with as few extensions as possible so there's nothing accessing the drives while you record, virus killers norton filesaver etc... will interfere with disk performance.

Seeing as you're using a 10,000rpm SCSI drive it should perform aswell as mine does, infact it should be better.

I do remember reading that digidesign don't support the Digi001 on the original G3 desktops.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-15-2002, 02:29 PM
Mr T Mr T is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,275
Default Re: looooonnnng delay before record starts

Try lowering the transfer rate...I have an Adaptec 29160 and had to lower the rate from 80 to 40 Mb in order to make it work properly...
__________________
Some music?... http://tmweb.free.fr
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-15-2002, 02:45 PM
marchhare marchhare is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 89
Default Re: looooonnnng delay before record starts

I'm sure you know this already, but in case you
don't, try setting the amount of time pro-tools
will record to maximum 10 minutes in the
preferences window. That may help.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-15-2002, 05:41 PM
mattpete's Avatar
mattpete mattpete is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 201
Default Re: looooonnnng delay before record starts

Beige G3s aren't supported for 001.
__________________
Matt Peterson
Avid Audio
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-15-2002, 07:45 PM
accession accession is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: On the road again... (Australia)
Posts: 1,319
Default Re: looooonnnng delay before record starts

Quote:
Originally posted by marchhare:
I'm sure you know this already, but in case you
don't, try setting the amount of time pro-tools
will record to maximum 10 minutes in the
preferences window. That may help.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Yes, that's the first thing to check (assuming everything else is compatible).

Otherwise Pro Tools spends time trying to work out exactly how much space its got before starting.

Phil
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-16-2002, 01:28 AM
bjorn for a reason bjorn for a reason is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: pittsburgh pa
Posts: 297
Default looooonnnng delay before record starts

biege g3 w/digi 001 384 meg ram atto scci card 10,000 rpm cheeta, takes 20 seconds!!! to begin recording. if i record to ata drive its instantainious, but only 16 or so tracks will play back. am i missing something? so used to TDM rigs, this is unusable
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-16-2002, 01:45 AM
Michael Cottrell Michael Cottrell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 518
Default Re: looooonnnng delay before record starts

The simplest suggestion i have is to try setting your disk cache setting 512k in the memory control panel.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-16-2002, 07:55 AM
bjorn for a reason bjorn for a reason is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: pittsburgh pa
Posts: 297
Default Re: looooonnnng delay before record starts

Thanks for the quick replies fellas, this LE stuff is a new thing for me. I know biege G3 is not officially supported, but it was lying around looking sad and i"m a glutton for punishment. Will try all of your suggestions. for the next few days i'm a stay home dad, and my 1 yr old is eager to bash away on the v-drums.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Press Arm Record then Play and have to wait 3 miniutes before record/playback starts The Muphin Man Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 8 09-10-2010 08:03 PM
10 second delay before playback actually starts Dan Russell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-18-2006 05:15 PM
Delay before record starts mampam Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 02-10-2006 03:42 PM
I PRESS RECORD.. LONG DELAY BEFORE IT STARTS REC!! sdre9090 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 07-16-2005 08:13 AM
3 blink delay before record starts...SOLVED! Stone Knife 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-29-2002 06:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com