Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-2011, 10:26 PM
sharptoupe sharptoupe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ocala/US
Posts: 26
Question Need advice for superior performance

I just had a computer built with two 1.5 tb drives..one of those 2 drives is partitioned to run windows..leaving the first drive with about 1 tb of space left..I plan to save and run all session files to this free area.
the 2nd drive I'm just going to use for storage..
my question being.. Would I get better performance from Pro Tools if I installed the program and plugins on the same drive that I have windows installed to?..or the remaining free section of the drive..?
I'm aware this is most likely showing a bit of my computer ignorance..but I just want to make sure I get the most out of the program.. and as of right now I have protools installed on the free section of the 1st drive and I am getting pop ups stating- DEA cant get audio from the drive fast enough. Your drive may be too slow or fragmented, or a firewire drive could be having trouble due to the extra firewire bandwidth or CPU load..
can anyone tell me how to stop these annoying pop ups..?
thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2011, 12:05 AM
mano111 mano111 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,267
Default Re: Need advice for superior performance

Quote:
Originally Posted by sharptoupe View Post
I just had a computer built with two 1.5 tb drives..one of those 2 drives is partitioned to run windows..leaving the first drive with about 1 tb of space left..I plan to save and run all session files to this free area.
the 2nd drive I'm just going to use for storage..

Running your sessions off the same phisical drive as you system drive, partitioned or not, will cause major perfomance issues.

It would be better if you use the non partitined drive for sessions and audio. You can still partition it if you want, just as long as its not shared with your system.

As for installing - programs including Protools should be installed on the same drive as your system (c:) in their default location.
__________________
i7 2600K @ 4.4GHZ -- Intel DP67BG B3 -- 8GB DDR3 1600 -- Crucial SSD
PTLE 8.0.4cs2 -- DIGI 003R -- DV toolkit -- Waves 9
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-10-2011, 08:36 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,545
Default Re: Need advice for superior performance

mano is correct here. Install all your software to the C: drive. Record to the second hard drive. Use the 2nd partition of the main drive for backups. I assume both drives are 7200 rpm and not "green" drives? So called "green" drives are a bad choice for recording(they are fine for backups, archives and transfers). If your drives are "green", I would buy 2-3 new drives(and they don't need to be that big). a trio of 500gb WD Caviar BlACKs would do nicely for system, recording and samples/backups. The old drives could be installed in some USB2 cases and would be great for backups and archives. You could use Acronis True Image to clone your system drive to a new drive(saving you from re-installing everything). Then you could use Acronis to save images of your system drive(to an external drive) so you can easily restore from a a drive crash or a virus attack. Food for thought
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-12-2011, 10:19 PM
sharptoupe sharptoupe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ocala/US
Posts: 26
Default Re: Need advice for superior performance

thank you so much for the info..I have 2 wd caviar black drives and now have it set up correctly..thanks to your input.. seriously appreciative.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-13-2011, 09:02 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,545
Default Re: Need advice for superior performance

Caviar BLACK..........yummy
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-13-2011, 10:45 AM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Need advice for superior performance

Too salty.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Macbook Pro, PT 7.1.1cs2, 002R, performance advice alange 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-20-2009 07:47 PM
System Performance Problems... Need Advice Ken K 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 09-08-2005 02:25 AM
DFH Superior, anyone using? Need advice.. JonMitchell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 06-03-2005 04:32 PM
XP Advice on separate profiles to improve PT performance... Roy Howell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 06-17-2003 10:17 PM
NEED ADVICE- How to Increase Performance imakesound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 20 06-11-2003 01:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com