Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-06-2008, 09:22 PM
jspellos jspellos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6
Default Help with track/song length in Edit Window

Hi to all..

This is probably a simple fix, but I'm stuck. In my Edit Window for a particular song, the song length is, say 4 minutes, but the edit window might show a much longer amount (say 15 minutes). There doesn't seem to be anything in any of the tracks after the song's end (and I have cleared/deleted whatever might be there).

I think the culprit may be the click track, which has these small markers (square boxes) on the horizontal line of the track. I've noticed these can be dragged, but it doesn't always fix the problem.

Any thoughts on how the length of the Edit Window can match the song length?

Thanks.

Jim Spellos
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-06-2008, 09:53 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,522
Default Re: Help with track/song length in Edit Window

2 things to be aware of. First, under preferences, you can set disk allocation to a smaller amount of time(default is USE ALL DRIVE SPACE or somehting like that). I usually set it at 6 minutes unless I am doing a live recording. Next, the extra "time" isn't really a problem but when it comes time to bounce to disk, you should highlight any track that runs the entire length(or just click on any track after the last note, and drag back to the beginning) and your bounce will only include the actual time length you highlighted.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-07-2008, 08:25 AM
jspellos jspellos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: Help with track/song length in Edit Window

Thanks for both tips - I'll check them both out.

Still, I'm puzzled over why I would need to do the latter. It's as if the song length is artificially stretched out - that sure seems to be a quirky thing - and there's probably an easy explanation that I can't figure out.

Thanks again for your help - it is appreciated!

Jim
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting of 'Edit Window Default Length' critictalk Tips & Tricks 1 07-30-2013 11:39 PM
Edit window default length limit - why? trc229 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 16 09-21-2009 07:59 PM
How can i change the song length in the edit window? Dusty Angel Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-16-2009 02:01 AM
Strike Edit Window Loop Length Setting Question JCWarrior Virtual Instruments 3 11-03-2007 02:31 PM
How to edit song length ozzymau 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 03-15-2004 08:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com