Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-06-2010, 02:51 AM
confusedhelp confusedhelp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 169
Default Tracking out [sounds] with a lot of Effects

Hello,

Quick question for engineers/Pro Tools operators and others,

What do you guys do when tracking out your sounds that has a lot of effects on it. Some of these effects are part and make the sound, so what do you guys do? Bypass it and add it on later (or try too) or is there a way to work around this? It's just when I track out those sounds as audio, it's good till the end of the bar and it cuts off and that... not good

For example: I use Logic Pro as a sound module and do all the sequencing in the MPC. When I feel it's done, I will track out as audio into a DAW (Pro Tools) Note, some of those sounds (Logic Pro) that I sequenced into the MPC has a lot of "effects" on them.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-06-2010, 08:03 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,554
Default Re: Tracking out [sounds] with a lot of Effects

If you like the effects, I see no reason to not record the sounds as is. Just remember that you are (sort of) committed this way. Recording dry allows you to leave effect decisions to the mix. With audio sources, I would record dry as you can return to your midi sources later if you find something just doesn't work.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-06-2010, 08:06 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Tracking out [sounds] with a lot of Effects

^^^^what Albee'sure said^^^^

Sometimes the effects make the sound but if it doesn't, I'd immediately take it off'eim...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-06-2010, 02:16 PM
O.G. Killa's Avatar
O.G. Killa O.G. Killa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,152
Default Re: Tracking out [sounds] with a lot of Effects

I used to be of the nature to record everything, instruments, samples, etc dry as possible and save it for the mix.

But lately I've been switching my opinion of that. Committing to the effects are you record them, whether they are a live instrument or a sample or a synth, effects how you add other elements to the mix.

For example, you might work on something for a week and write a track with all these effects on it. You feel it's done and love it. then you turn off all the effects and print all the midi to audio... then you start to mix... well now it feels empty because the timed delays and verbs and phase and chorus effects are all gone... now you have to spend hours and hours trying to recreate those effects with your plugins before you can even really start "mixing" the track. Sure you now have more control over it... but 80% of the time you don't really need that control.

So lately I've been printing effects as I composer, printing effects as I track, and printing effects as I print midi parts. It really makes the mixing much easier, and better in a lot of ways, since you are starting from the point where the composer/artist WAS happy with it and then you are just taking it to the next level as you mix.

Food for thought anyway... there's no "correct" way, in the end. Whatever works for you.
__________________
Derek Jones
Sound Engineer / Producer / Composer

Derek Jones Linkedin
Megatrax Recording Studios
Megatrax Studios Yelp Page
A-list Music Artist Page
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-06-2010, 02:27 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,526
Default Re: Tracking out [sounds] with a lot of Effects

If I feel the "effect" is part of the sound I print it. If I feel it's just another possibility I don't. I guess that's just about the same thing everyone else says so I just thought I would chime in.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2022 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-06-2010, 05:27 PM
confusedhelp confusedhelp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 169
Default Re: Tracking out [sounds] with a lot of Effects

Wow, just for the replies back, thank you. Hope more people can chime in here. So couple more questions here about the original post if I may...

1) Do engineers usually recommend that you track out your work Dry or with the effects?

2) If with the effects, how do you guys work around this, at the end of the loop it cuts off, do you guys Crossfade it?

Because I use the Logic Pro effects and when I track out my work into Pro Tools, some of what Logic Pro has, Pro Tools doesn't have and vice versa

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-06-2010, 07:37 PM
O.G. Killa's Avatar
O.G. Killa O.G. Killa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,152
Default Re: Tracking out [sounds] with a lot of Effects

Quote:
Originally Posted by confusedhelp View Post
Wow, just for the replies back, thank you. Hope more people can chime in here. So couple more questions here about the original post if I may...

1) Do engineers usually recommend that you track out your work Dry or with the effects?

2) If with the effects, how do you guys work around this, at the end of the loop it cuts off, do you guys Crossfade it?

Because I use the Logic Pro effects and when I track out my work into Pro Tools, some of what Logic Pro has, Pro Tools doesn't have and vice versa

Thanks!

I'm not sure what you mean but "cut off". You mean the effect just stops short for some reason?

obviously you want to keep recording to let the tail ring out for any effects that do so (like delays, reverbs, etc). If you are hitting stop right after the last beat of music, then yeah you will cut off the effects... what you need to do is let it keep recording for a couple bars after the music stops to make sure you keep all the tails/trails intact.
__________________
Derek Jones
Sound Engineer / Producer / Composer

Derek Jones Linkedin
Megatrax Recording Studios
Megatrax Studios Yelp Page
A-list Music Artist Page
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-06-2010, 07:40 PM
O.G. Killa's Avatar
O.G. Killa O.G. Killa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,152
Default Re: Tracking out [sounds] with a lot of Effects

Quote:
Originally Posted by confusedhelp View Post
1) Do engineers usually recommend that you track out your work Dry or with the effects?
Some do, some don't. Some ask for it to be in the session but inactive and hidden. Some don't want it at all, some want it all of it.

I guess the caveat is, if you really know what you are doing then the mixer will probably not have a problem with any effects you print. If you are just turning knobs and moving stuff without really knowing what's going on, then the mixer will probably be happier ALSO getting the dry tracks without any of your tinkering.
__________________
Derek Jones
Sound Engineer / Producer / Composer

Derek Jones Linkedin
Megatrax Recording Studios
Megatrax Studios Yelp Page
A-list Music Artist Page
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-06-2010, 11:40 PM
confusedhelp confusedhelp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 169
Default Re: Tracking out [sounds] with a lot of Effects

Thank you O.G. Killa, you couldn't have nailed it better.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-06-2010, 11:48 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Tracking out [sounds] with a lot of Effects

Quote:
Originally Posted by confusedhelp View Post
Thank you O.G. Killa, you couldn't have nailed it better.
DJ does it again!!!
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ambient sounds and various effects package charlesd81 Virtual Instruments 3 01-07-2011 01:52 PM
Unwanted effects engaging during tracking w/ 11R flametop1 Eleven Rack 6 10-09-2010 07:16 PM
Need help finding sounds/effects acj990 Virtual Instruments 2 10-16-2009 02:25 PM
002 on-board effects for cue mix during tracking? robert_kennedy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 10-11-2005 10:11 PM
tracking effects to tape badperson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-15-2003 07:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com