Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-24-2008, 11:32 AM
maufau maufau is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: L.A. / G.A
Posts: 95
Default solo aux channel?

Up to this point, I've been using mix groups for all of my solo'ing (i.e. listen to the drum parts only). After using other DAWs I found that if I solo a group, or aux channel in their environments, i hear everything that is routed to that aux. Never really thought twice about it.

But recently a client wanted me to track in PT at their studio (i usually do this in nuendo), and I wanted to solo the Harmony A and Harmony B Stem mixes, to locate a problem. Being used to my nuendo tracking environment I reached to solo on the aux and noticed that channels routed to it are muted, but I wanted to hear everything that was routed to it. Can PT do this without me having to select the mix group then solo?

Basically solo'ing a stem mix by clicking... solo?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-24-2008, 12:08 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,629
Default Re: solo aux channel?

PT follows standard Solo In Place behavior. If you solo any track/aux it will mute all channels that are not "Solo Safed" by command clicking the solo button. You can solo safe the aux master and then solo the members and hear them through the master that is "safed".

Or use VCA groups. Then you can solo the vox by soloing the VCA Group.

Thirdly, is to setup PT to use AFL/PFL like a console (this requires extra I/O and works best with an ICON controller) This would allow you to solo the Aux Master and since it's using the dedicated solo bus you've setup in the I/O Setup Window, your other tracks aren't muted.

All this is exactly like a console acts.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-24-2008, 03:11 PM
Mount Royal Mount Royal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posts: 995
Default Re: solo aux channel?

Like Drew says, VCA's can offer what you want. VCA's offer additional benefits, like record arming groups of tracks. VCA tracks really changed my workflow once they appeared, in 7.2 I think it was. Consider giving VCA tracks a try.

Good luck,

John-
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.4
HDX, 192 and Lucid I/O
5,1 MacPro 12 Core; OSX 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-24-2008, 07:14 PM
maufau maufau is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: L.A. / G.A
Posts: 95
Default Re: solo aux channel?

Thanks Mount Royal and damazurek, that simplified things, not quite what I was looking for, but way better than what I've been doing, I can see where it helps those OTB more so than ITB. I will incorporate this into my workflow nonetheless. I have been in other DAWs since 7, using PT for mixing only, but trying to get back into the swing of things, didn't know that they added this (its in the 7.2 "whats new" - i've been looking at the 7.4 "whats new"). Once again, thanks for the responses...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-24-2008, 08:13 PM
Kenny Gioia Kenny Gioia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 3,003
Default Re: solo aux channel?

Couldn't you just "Solo Safe" all the tracks that are being bussed to that aux?

Then you could just solo the Aux and hear it perfectly.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-25-2008, 07:20 AM
maufau maufau is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: L.A. / G.A
Posts: 95
Default Re: solo aux channel?

I could, and have, but the VCA is closer to what I want. I know there are different workflows, but this operation should be as simple as a click on the solo on an AUX. I shouldn't have to solo safe, then click solo on the aux to hear it.

Intersting, But what happens when I solo safe on the channels, and I've found my problem on one of the channels routed to the aux, and I want to solo it through the aux, won't the aux be muted if I do this? So I would have to solo safe the aux, then solo the channel? Too many steps for a simple operation.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-25-2008, 12:33 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,629
Default Re: solo aux channel?

Quote:
Couldn't you just "Solo Safe" all the tracks that are being bussed to that aux?

Then you could just solo the Aux and hear it perfectly.
But then your sends would still be active and if you've got any effects going you'll hear the wet sound only when soling other tracks.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-25-2008, 12:36 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,629
Default Re: solo aux channel?

Quote:
...........but this operation should be as simple as a click on the solo on an AUX. I shouldn't have to solo safe, then click solo on the aux to hear it.
It is, if you set it up using the AFL/PFL system.


Quote:

Intersting, But what happens when I solo safe on the channels, and I've found my problem on one of the channels routed to the aux, and I want to solo it through the aux, won't the aux be muted if I do this? So I would have to solo safe the aux, then solo the channel? Too many steps for a simple operation.
Yeah, this isn't the proper solution either. Think of how you'd handle it on console and PT will do it.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-25-2008, 07:45 PM
Kenny Gioia Kenny Gioia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 3,003
Default Re: solo aux channel?

Quote:


But then your sends would still be active and if you've got any effects going you'll hear the wet sound only when soling other tracks.
True. But if I'm bussing a bunch of BK Vox to a buss, I'm usually adding effects there. At the buss. Not on the individual tracks.

Enjoy.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't Solo More Than One Channel charmingnerd Artist Series 5 03-12-2014 06:19 PM
How to solo an efx channel? stigc56 macOS 2 12-10-2013 02:36 PM
D-Control channel mute/solo order JonesH ICON & C|24 2 04-30-2009 06:26 AM
afl solo in centre channel? tomlowd Post - Surround - Video 1 10-11-2007 02:49 AM
afl solo in centre channel? tomlowd ICON & C|24 1 10-10-2007 06:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com