Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-03-2021, 06:02 PM
Digital1 Digital1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Posts: 1
Default Error message on empty insert and send slots

First time posting. My apologies if I've missed something, but I've also been unable to find any related threads about my issue.

The symptom...
Clicking on the title of a track, an empty plug-in slot or send slot yields the following error message:
Assertion in "/Volumes/Development/238958/ProTools/NewFileLibs/Sys/MacOS/Sys_FileLocMacOS.cpp", line 230.

This of course prevents me from adding new inserts and sends or renaming tracks. There are other features I can still use by working around this error, but it would be nice to have my shortcuts back.

This happens randomly, first session I open or the Nth that day.

The cause...
Honestly, cannot for the life of me figure out what situation is causing this—it seems to be totally random.

So far...
Sometimes a system reboot will work, sometimes using disk utility's first aid feature works.

The Specs...
MacOS Mojave Version 10.14.6
2 x 2.4 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon
ProTools 2019.12.0

Please let me know if any more information is necessary/helpful.
And thank you to anyone who is able to offer some insight
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2021-06-21 at 1.35.27 PM.png (63.5 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-03-2021, 06:30 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,042
Default Re: Error message on empty insert and send slots

Hi. Welcome.
Unfortunately I can't give you anything but general advice.


That error message seems to point to something to do with OS and basic functions. This is what many of us have learned thru the years; sometimes you need to rebuild your setup from scratch to solve PT dysfunctionalities. What we call a clean install. (Fresh install of mac os on formatted volume, and fresh install of PT.) This almost always creates a solid stable PT system, allthough very basic. Then you reinstall stuff manually, creating backups as you go along.

If you have a disk, or the free disk space to create a separate partition, you could create a new boot disk without deleting the current.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1, iPad w/EuControl.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can Mix Window Display Fewer Insert and Send Slots? taylor4814 Pro Tools 9 4 09-30-2011 06:21 PM
Error message The H/W insert could not be made active. slagathor Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 07-29-2010 04:01 AM
Error message The H/W insert could not be madeactive. slagathor Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 06-17-2010 05:14 PM
Error Message: Directory not empty---help!!!!! ALProducer General Discussion 4 08-24-2005 04:27 PM
Hardware Insert Issue-Error Message on I/O imcivor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-30-2004 09:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com