Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-07-2020, 11:04 PM
changareth changareth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 11
Default Protools crash on startup

So yeah my new Mac is running Catalina and I see that Protools 12 2019 supports Catalina just not some video features which does not matter to me but after I installed it. I get to the open project window but when I choose an old project to open it crashes after but if i created a new session it is fine I guess it might be due to some plugins or some sort in old sessions that worked in Mojave? May I know how I can fix this? I noticed in the new session if I tried to add a plugin from WAVES e.g. an API EQ it crashes immediately.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-07-2020, 11:40 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,563
Default Re: Protools crash on startup

To open session with plugins disabled, press and hold shift while opening.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-07-2020, 11:52 PM
changareth changareth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 11
Default Re: Protools crash on startup

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
To open session with plugins disabled, press and hold shift while opening.
thanks!! got it to open! seems that my WAVES plugins are really crashing me! argh!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-07-2020, 11:53 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,563
Default Re: Protools crash on startup

I'm afraid your WavesHell needs to be updated to v11
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-17-2021, 11:06 PM
lauderdalemuzak@gmail.com lauderdalemuzak@gmail.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8
Default Re: Protools crash on startup

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
To open session with plugins disabled, press and hold shift while opening.

This doesn't work in 2021 with Big Sur. I pressed shift and Pro Tools just mushed on pass... LoFi is the plugin that is holding me up. I can't even update it or see what program holds it. I just want to get my session going. I even moved LoFi to unused folder and pro tools just puts it back as soon as I run it??? That's crazy. Almost like saying "no, you can 't move me"
__________________
@LauderdaleMuzak or @kennylauderdale on all platforms.

Macbook Pro M1 silicon
BigSur
16GB Ram
Pro Tools 2021.7
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-17-2021, 11:48 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,563
Default Re: Protools crash on startup

Quote:
Originally Posted by lauderdalemuzak@gmail.com View Post
This doesn't work in 2021 with Big Sur. I pressed shift and Pro Tools just mushed on pass... LoFi is the plugin that is holding me up. I can't even update it or see what program holds it. I just want to get my session going. I even moved LoFi to unused folder and pro tools just puts it back as soon as I run it??? That's crazy. Almost like saying "no, you can 't move me"
If you are certain it is LoFi that bugs you, here's how to get rid of it.
  • Locate PT app on Applications folder (in Finder)
  • Right-click on the PT app and Show Package Contents
  • Navigate to Core Plug-Ins Folder
  • Delete the offending plugin from here and the copying stops
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-18-2021, 04:54 PM
lauderdalemuzak@gmail.com lauderdalemuzak@gmail.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8
Default Re: Protools crash on startup

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
If you are certain it is LoFi that bugs you, here's how to get rid of it.
  • Locate PT app on Applications folder (in Finder)
  • Right-click on the PT app and Show Package Contents
  • Navigate to Core Plug-Ins Folder
  • Delete the offending plugin from here and the copying stops
__________________
@LauderdaleMuzak or @kennylauderdale on all platforms.

Macbook Pro M1 silicon
BigSur
16GB Ram
Pro Tools 2021.7
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-18-2021, 05:11 PM
lauderdalemuzak@gmail.com lauderdalemuzak@gmail.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8
Default Re: Protools crash on startup

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
If you are certain it is LoFi that bugs you, here's how to get rid of it.
  • Locate PT app on Applications folder (in Finder)
  • Right-click on the PT app and Show Package Contents
  • Navigate to Core Plug-Ins Folder
  • Delete the offending plugin from here and the copying stops
welp I gave that a go and then loaded pro tools. Lofi wants in... I found the folder you mentioned and deleted lofi. What next?
Attached Images
File Type: png BBAF0F8F-51CC-48A7-83F6-FB9EE8E37A72.png (94.8 KB, 0 views)
__________________
@LauderdaleMuzak or @kennylauderdale on all platforms.

Macbook Pro M1 silicon
BigSur
16GB Ram
Pro Tools 2021.7
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools Express Crash on Startup idriszee Pro Tools Express on Mac OS X 2 02-23-2014 08:14 AM
Crash on startup with LE 8.0.5 derFunkenstein 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-14-2011 06:57 AM
Protools Le 7.0 Crash on startup, can't register John H 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 06-22-2006 05:22 PM
ProTools system crash wipes out my startup in XP RussUK 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 12-30-2002 12:01 AM
crash during startup tranceman Digidesign Hardware & Software 3 11-08-2000 01:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com