Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-20-2009, 07:11 AM
Echo studios Echo studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1998
Location: Drummondville, QC / Canada
Posts: 459
Default Moving from Windows PT|HD to Macpro PT|HD some questions..

Hi,

Switching to MacPro 8core 3.0ghz (Harpertown model).

Right now, I got 4 external 72gb cheetah SCSI drives formatted in NTFS under WinXP that is use since the last years.

My question is:

Will they mount ok on OS X 10.5.8? so i can copy all my PT sessions to a spare directory on my internal mac drive and then reformat those cheetah's to HFS mac format after for use with PT?

If not, do i need a special NFTS app on mac?

Thanks for any good inputs,

Dan
__________________
PT HDX2 / Ultimate / D-Command ES 24 w/ edit pack

MP Dual 3.66mhz ( 6-Cores) / 32GB / SDD 8TB
OSX Sierra 10.12

Dan Desilets
Mix/Mastering Engineer, Guitarist, Composer
New Website live @ www.sublimesoundstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-20-2009, 07:20 AM
smfelton's Avatar
smfelton smfelton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: South Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 682
Default Re: Moving from Windows PT|HD to Macpro PT|HD some questions..

Yes Mac OS X will natively read NTFS but you can't write to it so you shouldn't have any problems.
__________________
 OSX 10.11.5, PT 12.5, iConnectAudio4+, Axe FX 2 XL+, Music Man Majesty
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-20-2009, 07:25 AM
Echo studios Echo studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1998
Location: Drummondville, QC / Canada
Posts: 459
Default Re: Moving from Windows PT|HD to Macpro PT|HD some questions..

Thanks for the cue ! OS X is the best. :)
__________________
PT HDX2 / Ultimate / D-Command ES 24 w/ edit pack

MP Dual 3.66mhz ( 6-Cores) / 32GB / SDD 8TB
OSX Sierra 10.12

Dan Desilets
Mix/Mastering Engineer, Guitarist, Composer
New Website live @ www.sublimesoundstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-20-2009, 07:34 AM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: Moving from Windows PT|HD to Macpro PT|HD some questions..

IMHO, dump the SCSI drives and move to firewire. I say this because working with SCSI anymore is like trying to ride a bike without tires. Sure it can be done, but it's exhausting. I've never liked working with SCSI systems unless it was a single drive, but the other reason I say this is that your drives are several years old. I'm using firewire for HUGE sessions and it's just fine, cheap as heck, and easy to replace (not to mention, cheap as heck!).
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-20-2009, 09:28 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,807
Default Re: Moving from Windows PT|HD to Macpro PT|HD some questions..

I almost hate to disagree with you, Brad, but in this case - if there were one drive type I'd recommend, it would be internal SATA drives.

Firewire drives do perform well, but SATA has a leg up in that department. The Mac Pro will take 4 internal SATA drives - they're really easy to install and, since you're not paying for the FW case, you can usually get 2 SATA drives for the cost of one good FW drive of the same size. And since we all know how important having backup drives is...

If you need portability - absolutely get firewire, but if not then SATA is, IMO, the way to go....
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-20-2009, 11:37 AM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,091
Default Re: Moving from Windows PT|HD to Macpro PT|HD some questions..

I believe he was referring to External SATAs.
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-20-2009, 11:54 AM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: Moving from Windows PT|HD to Macpro PT|HD some questions..

Digi...my point really was "just get rid of SCSI". Whatever he replaces it with, that's a mute point..... Sorry I wasn't as clear on that.
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-20-2009, 01:24 PM
Echo studios Echo studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1998
Location: Drummondville, QC / Canada
Posts: 459
Default Re: Moving from Windows PT|HD to Macpro PT|HD some questions..

I agree with u both actually! :P

I do have an external glyph firewire hotswap for backups...never used for recording session of 24 - 32 tracks tough..

The big MacPro that i'm awaiting is a monster...
It has (4) 500gb internal SATA-II Drives which are 7,200 rpm.

My ol' SCSI disks were all Cheetah's @ 15,000 rpm.

am i understanding that i can run a session of 24-32 tracks spanned on these internal sata drives and all of this without a single glitch?

let me know
__________________
PT HDX2 / Ultimate / D-Command ES 24 w/ edit pack

MP Dual 3.66mhz ( 6-Cores) / 32GB / SDD 8TB
OSX Sierra 10.12

Dan Desilets
Mix/Mastering Engineer, Guitarist, Composer
New Website live @ www.sublimesoundstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-20-2009, 01:28 PM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: Moving from Windows PT|HD to Macpro PT|HD some questions..

That's a conservative number, actually...you can do many more.
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving from G5 to MacPro Westmere Bassturbator Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 09-25-2010 09:21 AM
Need advice to set up Windows and PT on MacPro m4tune Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 10-22-2009 03:19 PM
pc to macpro switch - version questions darrylnb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-21-2009 09:31 AM
Switching from PC to MacPro. Few questions... murph16 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-16-2009 04:06 PM
MacPro/ProTools questions..and a Macworld article triskelion 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-13-2007 06:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com