Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Old 11-06-2014, 10:53 PM

Default With new Mac Pro, do we still need BlackMagic or AJA? Only for video out.

Hi, I'm new to post production.

With new Mac Pro, do we still need Blackmagic or AJA card for video out?
Do they provide any benefit when the new Mac Pro already seems an overkill for Pro Tools?
Old 11-06-2014, 10:56 PM

Default Re: With new Mac Pro, do we still need BlackMagic or AJA? Only for video out.

the Mac Pro lacks sync refrence

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

Thank you,

Craig
Old 11-07-2014, 01:43 AM

Default Re: With new Mac Pro, do we still need BlackMagic or AJA? Only for video out.

Sorry, I forgot to say I am planning to build a system with Mac Pro, HDX & PT11 HD.

I'm only dealing with ADR and music for the film, no video capturing involved, do I need sync reference?

From the manual (PT 11), it says video playback can be handled by GPU, Mac Pro has two powerful GPU, so the playback should be okay, right? Or is there some problem in the real world?

And it also said, Video Scrubbing only work with Pro Tools Video Window (if no video hardware presented), but Pro Tools Video Window can be set to full screen, so I still have full screen video scrubbing right?

And how you measure the lag introduced by video monitor or LED TV?
Old 11-07-2014, 06:37 AM

Well if you do professionally ADR your system must have a reference sync and be genlocked by a single Black Burst generator.
Other wise each time you'll press playback your sync will start / play different.
To be frame edge accurate you got to have a Sync HD unit and Aja IO XT (for using with a newer Mac Pro).