Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Carbon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-08-2024, 11:57 AM
tonyw7 tonyw7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 58
Default Re: Performance Degradation with Carbon and Sonoma?

Ditto!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-09-2024, 07:29 AM
marianna's Avatar
marianna marianna is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bonita Springs Florida
Posts: 661
Default Re: Performance Degradation with Carbon and Sonoma?

Thanks Mark for chiming in :)

Your fan " Marianna "
__________________
Marianna Montague
Sr. Dir. CX and Community | Customer Advocate

[email protected]
cell +1 (813) 493-6800
AOL IM avidmarianna
Twitter Avidmarianna


We're Avid. Learn more at www.avid.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-16-2024, 08:24 AM
tonyw7 tonyw7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 58
Default Re: Performance Degradation with Carbon and Sonoma?

Hi



It's been a few days now since this last post. I would like to update to 2024.3. I have a Mac Studio M2 running sonoma 14.3.1 Using Carbon as my interface, as posted on avid (Pro Tools Carbon can experience performance degradation and potential dropouts) I seen somewhere in a post that this is only with high track count. I do have practice sessions with up to 40 stereo audio tracks, will I possibly experience these problems with that track count?


Thanks, Tony
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-16-2024, 12:28 PM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 2,349
Default Re: Performance Degradation with Carbon and Sonoma?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MCorbin View Post
Hey all

There is an Apple AVB bug that shows degraded the performance for Carbon with Sonoma.

In our testing, we see signal drop outs across most Sample Rates and Hardware Buffer sizes when there is heavy load placed on Carbon. Sometimes it happens immediately, sometimes over a long duration.

A typical test session has 16 tracks in DSP mode along with 32+ tracks in record.

Can you use Carbon with Sonoma.... sure, but I didn't feel comfortable qualifying with this kind of behavior.

However, if you have a bit more flexibility and tolerance in your workflow, then Sonoma should be fine.

So Pro Tools 24.3 works great with Carbon... but Carbon on Sonoma does not work great. We qualify hardware for OS separately from Pro Tools for OS. In Carbon's case, it is always logged here:

https://avidtech.my.salesforce-sites...s#requirements

I hope this is helpful for you all!

mark
Hey thanks Mark for the clarification. I have been holding off updating to 2024.3 because of some of the reported bugs. But since I am on Ventura 13.2 .1 - I may give it try
__________________
System :
Studio - Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2023.12 Mid 2020 (intel) iMac 27" Ventura 13.2 .1
Mobile - 2021 14 " MBP M1 Pro PT Ultimate 2024.3.0 --Sonoma 14.4



Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-17-2024, 02:58 PM
dominicperry dominicperry is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 934
Default Re: Performance Degradation with Carbon and Sonoma?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyw7 View Post
Hi



It's been a few days now since this last post. I would like to update to 2024.3. I have a Mac Studio M2 running sonoma 14.3.1 Using Carbon as my interface, as posted on avid (Pro Tools Carbon can experience performance degradation and potential dropouts) I seen somewhere in a post that this is only with high track count. I do have practice sessions with up to 40 stereo audio tracks, will I possibly experience these problems with that track count?


Thanks, Tony
Tony,

I don't think anything is going to change much in a few days. You said you read something somewhere - that is this thread.
Anyway, the problem here isn't Pro Tools 2024.3 - it's Sonoma and Carbon. And you are already running Sonoma and Carbon, so the best person to answer your question is you!
Also, on a Mac you can rename your existing version of Pro Tools (e.g. from Pro Tools to Pro Tools Old) and install 2024.3 and run that instead and see if it's ok for you. But I really don't think PT is the problem here and upgrading / downgrading Sonoma to earlier versions or to Ventura is a lot more hassle than just downloading the latest version of PT and giving it a go.

Dominic
__________________
MacBookPro M1Max 16" 10/32 64GB 2TB, Ventura 13.6.7, Pro Tools 2023.12.1, Carbon.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-17-2024, 03:13 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,774
Default Re: Performance Degradation with Carbon and Sonoma?

If you really need to do this, test away, throw a new clean install of Sonoma on a spare volume on the boot drive or on a separate SSD. Install 2024.3 and test away. Should be around an hour to set up enough to test?

I doubt anybody is going to be silly enough to assure a user that they won't have a problem in situations like this.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-26-2024, 06:06 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 2,349
Default Re: Performance Degradation with Carbon and Sonoma?

I realize it has been a while but I am wondering is there has been any progress on this issue
And also wondering if this applies only to Apple silicon Mac's.

please any news good sirs
__________________
System :
Studio - Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2023.12 Mid 2020 (intel) iMac 27" Ventura 13.2 .1
Mobile - 2021 14 " MBP M1 Pro PT Ultimate 2024.3.0 --Sonoma 14.4



Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-26-2024, 06:23 AM
dominicperry dominicperry is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 934
Default Re: Performance Degradation with Carbon and Sonoma?

Quote:
Originally Posted by K Roche View Post
I realize it has been a while but I am wondering is there has been any progress on this issue
And also wondering if this applies only to Apple silicon Mac's.

please any news good sirs
Follow the link in the text that you have quoted a couple of posts up and you will see that Carbon is not qualified neither Intel nor Apple Silicon Macs. And nothing has changed since that post. We can be hopeful that something may have changed with Sonoma 14.5 and that Avid will publish updated advice when they release 2024.6. But who knows…..

Dominic
__________________
MacBookPro M1Max 16" 10/32 64GB 2TB, Ventura 13.6.7, Pro Tools 2023.12.1, Carbon.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-26-2024, 09:24 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 2,349
Default Re: Performance Degradation with Carbon and Sonoma?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominicperry View Post
Follow the link in the text that you have quoted a couple of posts up and you will see that Carbon is not qualified neither Intel nor Apple Silicon Macs. And nothing has changed since that post. We can be hopeful that something may have changed with Sonoma 14.5 and that Avid will publish updated advice when they release 2024.6. But who knows…..

Dominic
Thanks I had and just looked again at the link, and yes it states that neither intel or Silicon is "supported" on Sonoma But could not find if this specific Carbon AVB degradation issue is on both intel and silicon ("Pro Tools | Carbon can experience performance degradation and potential dropouts" is not very informative
But does not really mater as my system is running fine in its current config. I was just wondering
__________________
System :
Studio - Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2023.12 Mid 2020 (intel) iMac 27" Ventura 13.2 .1
Mobile - 2021 14 " MBP M1 Pro PT Ultimate 2024.3.0 --Sonoma 14.4



Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-28-2024, 08:11 AM
MCorbin's Avatar
MCorbin MCorbin is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 198
Default Re: Performance Degradation with Carbon and Sonoma?

The issue was not Intel or Silicon specific, but was Sonoma specific. Later releases of Sonoma we've seen more issues in testing... mind you the issues are sometimes 1-2 sample drop outs, which can be very difficult to hear or find, but enough to give notification.

m
__________________
Mark Corbin
Avid
Sr Principal Product Manager
Professional Audio Systems

For immediate assistance:
Pro Tools & Eucon Surfaces - +1 888-456-3444
Venue Support - +1 978-275-2557

Find out how to create, manage, and edit cases online now HERE
It's fast, easy, and effective!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
M2 Max Studio Sonoma mise à jourupdate@ Carbon issues frenchman Pro Tools | Carbon 1 02-09-2024 06:38 AM
Any Sonoma + Carbon users? dominicperry Pro Tools | Carbon 3 01-31-2024 08:21 AM
Poor performance from Spectrasonics with Mac Pro and Carbon dominicperry Pro Tools | Carbon 7 08-30-2021 12:41 PM
Native Monitoring/recording performance under Carbon? Ru_C Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 08-16-2021 07:36 AM
Nehalem Processors Audio Performance Degradation phaseout 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 02-22-2010 08:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com