Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 09-01-2004, 05:36 AM

Default Tablet for PT on OSX G4?

Can anyone recommend a tablet for use on a G4 OSX 10.2.8 with Pro Tools 6.1? I've had a great one from Wacom on my 9600 but that's ADB and now I suppose I need USB. If anyone is using one they like, I'd love to hear about it with a model number and price.
Thanks!
[email protected]
Old 09-01-2004, 06:25 AM

Default Re: Tablet for PT on OSX G4?

Wacom makes USB tablets. I don't use one, but I'm curious to know why and how you use one with PT? Is it better than a mouse?
Old 09-01-2004, 09:10 AM

Here's the deal.

I've been using a Wacom tablet with Pro Tools now for over 2 years.

A good friend turned me on to the tablet style. I am glad I listened to him and I never looked back.

Honestly, if you are not familiar with the interface, there is a bit of a learning curve - it can take up to 2 weeks to feel completely comfortable with the pen, especially across 2 monitors -- which can be a bit frustrating. But once you are comfortable (I'm actually typing this reply with my pen tucked between my fingers), wrist or hand fatigue will be a thing of the past. Using the pen on a smaller tablet like the 4x5 actually limits your wrist movement without sacrificing precision in Pro Tools. Unless you are a graphic designer who demands ultra-fine control over pixels, there is no need for a larger tablet that just takes up desk real estate and larger arm movements. Being in Post Production, I have worked a lot of truly long shifts on projects, and my wrist thanks me every time that I use a tablet.

Think about this:

-Literally drawing your automation on screen
-Drawing spikes out of waveforms.