Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-10-2005, 07:30 AM
planetkeys planetkeys is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19
Default digi midi unit latency

Hello using Digi midi with DP for programming. The latency between playing and hearing is rediculisly long. i have an old Midisport 8x8 but don't want to have to rewire everything. Any reason for this? do any users of logic suffer this?
cheers
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-2005, 08:24 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,806
Default Re: digi midi unit latency

What type of synth are you triggering? How are you monitoring it - through a mixer or through Pro Tools?

If you record MIDI data on a track and play it back, does it play back in time properly?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-10-2005, 08:44 AM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default Re: digi midi unit latency

remove all plugins from the instrument track. You are probably using a high latency plug.
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-10-2005, 08:51 AM
planetkeys planetkeys is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19
Default Re: digi midi unit latency

Hello i am using waldorf rack attack, nord electro, xv-50-80 mostly. i will try and record and see if there is much delay on that side. The other thing is when i use the indigo plugin that doesn't seem so bad it seems to be on the way backout to hardware. Will try that just now and post in a few minutes
thanks for getting back
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-10-2005, 08:53 AM
planetkeys planetkeys is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19
Default Re: digi midi unit latency

oh sorry and i am monitoring through a mixer.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-10-2005, 09:02 AM
planetkeys planetkeys is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19
Default Re: digi midi unit latency

Hello again. When i record enable my midi track to my xv50-80 and play a note i probably get around half a second of latency )(approx, not quite sure how to mesure that) playing in real time. However after recording or drawing in notes, during play back this latency is significantly reduced to the usual 200 odd samples.
Thanking you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10.4.11/LE 7.4/Digi 002 -- MIDI Latency and other Issues. JayCRB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-19-2008 06:02 PM
Digi MIDI I/O unit sometimes goes offline delgadil MIDI 1 09-10-2007 09:58 AM
Digi 002 Midi Latency Anyone? weedrock 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-12-2003 03:42 AM
digi 002 - midi to audio latency bustromo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 03-24-2003 09:39 AM
digi 002 audio to midi latency pinky 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-18-2003 08:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com