Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2000, 02:25 PM
Dew Dew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Austria
Posts: 2
Default Midi sync issues

Can somebody please clue me: does midi sync well to audio, even when there is high plug-in usage?

I am a frustrated Cubase PC user. I own a PIII-450, Cubase 24, SCSI, Darla, & a PC Midi3 interface from Steinberg. When I start a project, everything works kinda OK, just to slowly walk off sync as more processing is required.

Please tell me that 001's sync is solid so I can pre-order one! Also: if I need more midi outs, will they sync well with the midi out on the 001?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-06-2000, 12:22 AM
Paul Curtiz Paul Curtiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Midi sync issues

I have worked for over a year on a Soundscape system (PC), which syncs to incoming MTC ("chase slave" or "trigger slave"). I have done short film projects (up to 15 mins) and have no no problems whatsoever when using the "chase" sync mode.

I've ordered a Digi001 (PC), and as you may have read, the 001 will only sync to "trigger", which means once you hit start and your master and slave lock in sync, you then rely on their separate internal clocks, so you may experience drifting after a few minutes.
What I don't know is how the 001/PTLE reacts to this. I don't know if its internal clock is affected by, say, a large amount of tracks running, or lots of plug-ins.
I'm going to keep my Soundscape until I find out !
Good luck

------------------
Paul Curtiz / Scratch Studio
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-06-2000, 02:01 AM
Dew Dew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Austria
Posts: 2
Default Re: Midi sync issues

Thank you Paul!

However, I was wondering whether the 001 midi syncs well to 001 audio...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD1 and Rosetta MIDI Sync Issues theoutlierinn MIDI 0 04-21-2008 08:39 AM
Midi Sync issues reezy Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 3 10-07-2007 04:25 PM
Midi Beat Clock sync issues conjure.one Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 09-04-2007 06:06 PM
MIDI sync issues mnoxious 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-09-2006 11:46 PM
PRO TOOLS 7 - MIDI SYNC ISSUES Metaphysician MIDI 0 02-28-2006 10:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com