Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-27-2020, 01:18 PM
easyrider easyrider is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 93
Default Pro Tools 2020.9.1 and Faderport 16 not working





I followed this from the manual



Is there something I am missing?
__________________
Tech:Audient ID22 and ASP880 / Yamaha MT120S / I7 /Win 10 Pro 64-bit /Pro Tools 2018 / Shure DMK57-52 /Rode NT1/ Oktava MK-012
Mic Pre's Focusrite ISA One/ DAV Electronics BG1/ Joe Meek VC3
Guitars and Instrumentation:Gibson Les Paul Zebrawood/Fender USA Telecaster/Fender Deluxe Strat/ Martin OM-18V/
Martin D15-M/Gibson SG Bass/ 1972 fender Musicmaster Bass/ 1972 Hayman Drums /Vox,Fender Amps/Roland F130R
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-27-2020, 03:26 PM
Bob L's Avatar
Bob L Bob L is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 535
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.9.1 and Faderport 16 not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by easyrider View Post

Is there something I am missing?
Shooting in the dark, but I think it may be that you should unassign the FP16 as a MIDI Input Device.

My C|8 requires only the Peripherals Dialogue to be entered, but again it's a C|8, not a C|16.
__________________
Bob
Without a song
The day would never end
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-28-2020, 04:57 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,745
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.9.1 and Faderport 16 not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by easyrider View Post




I followed this from the manual



Is there something I am missing?
Did you set the Faderport to HUI mode and reboot it?
Also have you turned off the USB port power savings measures in Windows?
Is the Faderport plugged in and turned on when starting your computer?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-28-2020, 06:57 AM
easyrider easyrider is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 93
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.9.1 and Faderport 16 not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob L View Post
Shooting in the dark, but I think it may be that you should unassign the FP16 as a MIDI Input Device.

My C|8 requires only the Peripherals Dialogue to be entered, but again it's a C|8, not a C|16.
You mean just uncheck it in that first pic?
__________________
Tech:Audient ID22 and ASP880 / Yamaha MT120S / I7 /Win 10 Pro 64-bit /Pro Tools 2018 / Shure DMK57-52 /Rode NT1/ Oktava MK-012
Mic Pre's Focusrite ISA One/ DAV Electronics BG1/ Joe Meek VC3
Guitars and Instrumentation:Gibson Les Paul Zebrawood/Fender USA Telecaster/Fender Deluxe Strat/ Martin OM-18V/
Martin D15-M/Gibson SG Bass/ 1972 fender Musicmaster Bass/ 1972 Hayman Drums /Vox,Fender Amps/Roland F130R
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-28-2020, 07:00 AM
easyrider easyrider is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 93
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.9.1 and Faderport 16 not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Did you set the Faderport to HUI mode and reboot it?
Also have you turned off the USB port power savings measures in Windows?
Is the Faderport plugged in and turned on when starting your computer?
Yep,

Hold first two select buttons , Power on FP16, select HUI, select exit. Reboot FP16

Launch Protools

Error.

FP16 plugged in and turned on when I boot, yep.

Disabled power settings in USB yep, Always do that...
__________________
Tech:Audient ID22 and ASP880 / Yamaha MT120S / I7 /Win 10 Pro 64-bit /Pro Tools 2018 / Shure DMK57-52 /Rode NT1/ Oktava MK-012
Mic Pre's Focusrite ISA One/ DAV Electronics BG1/ Joe Meek VC3
Guitars and Instrumentation:Gibson Les Paul Zebrawood/Fender USA Telecaster/Fender Deluxe Strat/ Martin OM-18V/
Martin D15-M/Gibson SG Bass/ 1972 fender Musicmaster Bass/ 1972 Hayman Drums /Vox,Fender Amps/Roland F130R
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-28-2020, 03:53 PM
Bob L's Avatar
Bob L Bob L is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 535
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.9.1 and Faderport 16 not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by easyrider View Post
You mean just uncheck it in that first pic?
Yup, that's what I mean. Again, shooting in the dark.
__________________
Bob
Without a song
The day would never end
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-16-2021, 06:16 PM
gub gub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Patch, Australia
Posts: 71
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.9.1 and Faderport 16 not working

I'm not sure if this has been covered?

However, I can't make a receive (send is fine) connection in Protools with my Faderport 16,

In the midi controller tab of Protools, PreSonsFP16,Prt1 andPrt2 show up in the Send to section, but they don't appear in the Receive drop-down menu.
So the faders work on the fader port when I use the faders in Protools, but not the other way around......

I've updated the firmware and I'm using a Mac mini..... and running the Universal control app.

Could there be a problem with the Audio Midi setup side of my Mac?

Any ideas?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-19-2021, 02:14 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,147
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.9.1 and Faderport 16 not working

If you bought the FP16 new, the dealer would be my first point of contact. Second would be Presonus as they may have tech support available by phone. At this point, everything you do will be an experiment and I would start in that MIDI window at the top of your pics and uncheck everything for the FP and test. If that doesn't work, then add back each item, one at a time. From my own experience with HUI controllers, I have never needed to open that particular window for successful HUI function(still using my first-gen Faderport here)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
anyone using a faderport with 2020? zwolf Pro Tools 2020 15 08-14-2020 01:32 PM
Pro Tools 2020.5/2020.3 Compatibility with Catalina 10.15.4? derrickhou macOS 4 07-26-2020 07:46 AM
Pro Tools (2020.3) on MacBook Air 2020 compatibility pellekuipers Pro Tools 2020 1 04-04-2020 08:01 AM
Presonus Faderport not working properly with v12.8 electrodaddy Pro Tools 12 10 08-10-2017 06:33 PM
Faderport not working correctly. WorldOfNoise Pro Tools 12 2 10-16-2016 07:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com