Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-12-2006, 02:18 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,606
Default Bug in 7.2 Signal Generator

I was just playing w/ Signal Generator and noticed the RMS/Peek buttons

Well they are backwards, I get a about 2-3 dB more when selection RMS than when I select Peek on my external meters

settings are 1000 Hz at -20 dBFS.
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-12-2006, 03:17 PM
SessionKat SessionKat is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Daly City, CA U.S.A.
Posts: 646
Default Re: Bug in 7.2 Signal Generator

Quote:
I was just playing w/ Signal Generator and noticed the RMS/Peek buttons

Well they are backwards, I get a about 2-3 dB more when selection RMS than when I select Peek on my external meters

settings are 1000 Hz at -20 dBFS.
I think what you're reporting is correct.

If the peak level setting in Sig Gen for a sine wave is -10 dB, PT will measure it (peak) as -10 dB. So far so good.

If the rms level setting in Sig Gen for a sine wave is -10 dB, PT should measure it (peak) at -6.98 dB. That’s correct behavior. (If you’re in peak, and you switch to rms in Sig Gen, the level should go up by 3.02 dB.


If the peak measurement of a sine wave is at, say, -10 dB, the rms measurement of that same sine wave would be at -13.02 dB (3.02 dB down).

However, if you set the rms level in Sig Gen to be the same as the peak level (-10 dB), then the peak measurement of that rms sine wave in PT should be 3.02 dB hotter (hence -6.98 dB).

GO here if you want to learn more about RMS (Root Means Square) : http://www.tpub.com/neets/book2/1f.htm

-tv
__________________
Tim vdB
Avid Audio

"There's a fine line between stupid and clever."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is Signal Generator gone?! nz Pro Tools 9 1 12-27-2010 07:39 AM
Signal Generator? Major Matt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 03-20-2007 11:53 AM
Use of a signal generator reverieman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 10-25-2006 06:59 AM
Signal Generator in 6.1 Clash310 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-29-2003 04:54 AM
signal generator for what use? jinsel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-11-2002 03:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com