Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-09-2002, 01:46 AM
Punx Punx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dumfries, VA
Posts: 399
Default Signal Generator

What is the practical use for the signal generator plug in?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-09-2002, 02:19 AM
Zeus Zeus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Finland
Posts: 864
Default Re: Signal Generator

Not much. It's too difficult to use it musically (even though the lower frequency range below 1k is tuned to half-steps!). The pink noise generation is totally flawed. The square and triangle waves are aliasing like hell...

I think they mostly made it up for the TDM systems for signal level calibration purposes.

Z
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-09-2002, 02:53 AM
Punx Punx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dumfries, VA
Posts: 399
Default Re: Signal Generator

That's what i figured Zeus. I was actually hoping there was a way to use the tones as an oscillator function, but apparently that's not possible. Thanks for the response
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-09-2002, 03:16 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 5,260
Default Re: Signal Generator

I use it for:

Simple level calibrating. I send a -10db sinus around my system to check the levels.

Checking tuning of guitars and stuff.

And heres one special thing:
I have a mic on the ceiling in my recording studio. It lets me hear people speaking to me even if they dont have a recording mic close to them.
But the problem is that I have to switch this mic on and off all the time because it has a terrible ambience sound and interferes with tweaking.

This is where the signal generator comes in:
I have a whole track of sinus tone feeding into a squashing compressor on the studio talkback mic. The sinus goes in as sidechain in the compressor.

This means that every time I press play or rec, the sinus tone makes the compressor attenuate the studio talkback mic. So I hear only the music and recording tracks. When I stop playback, the studio talkback mic comes back.

Pretty clever, eh?

I got the tip from this board!

The DUC rules!!! [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
__________________
Mac mini M2 Pro 32/512. MacOS 13.6.1. PT Studio 2023.6.
Topping E30 II DAC, Dynaudio BM6, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-09-2002, 05:56 AM
CCash CCash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,423
Default Re: Signal Generator

Very clever!

I couldn't go without the signal generator for calibrating my gear... one of the best plugs they ever invented.

Also needed for laying down reference tones for clients.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is Signal Generator gone?! nz Pro Tools 9 1 12-27-2010 07:39 AM
Signal Generator? Major Matt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 03-20-2007 11:53 AM
Use of a signal generator reverieman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 10-25-2006 06:59 AM
Bug in 7.2 Signal Generator Craig F Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-12-2006 03:17 PM
Signal Generator in 6.1 Clash310 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-29-2003 04:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com