Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-15-2004, 03:20 PM
tominagirl tominagirl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: London,UK
Posts: 6
Default Pt version 6.1 hell on Mix 3 TDM system

Once upon a time there was a happy engineer who did all her mixing in Pro Tools 5.1.3 and all her MIDI programming in Logic 4.7. Things were going well until she happened to have a dry spell in her work diary. She started to socialise with friends and read lots of trade magazines and it didn't take long before she was seduced by the potential of Pro Tools 6. Imagine all the new MIDI features, Could it be possible that she could finally stay in one program all the time instead of bouncing between the two all the time?? So she upgraded to Jaguar 10.2.8 on her G4 Quiksilver 867 and installed PT 6.1. She did all the right things before the install,defragging her internal IDEs and the main drive,fresh install,you name it. Luckily she kept OS9 and 5.1.3 on in case things didn't work out as sanctioned by a Digi tech.

Things did not work out for the engineer, and she is reduced to tears on most days as her once rock solid system teeters on the brink. All she wants to do is write music but most days she'll be lucky if she doesn't experience kernel panic less than four times for a mere change in zoom height. She has long since given up hope of ever being able to use Intakt,Kontakt and Battery, and has given up bouncing in 6 as it doesn't work!!! Other strange things happen which are too strange to mention on this forum. Should she take a chance and upgrade to OS 10.3.2 and Pro Tools 6.2.3 even though it is unsupported at this moment on systems like hers? Or should she wait for the 6.4 update? Will she ever work happily ever after again?????
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-15-2004, 03:54 PM
Tubz Tubz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 323
Default Re: Pt version 6.1 hell on Mix 3 TDM system

Why don't you stay with whatever makes you happy?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-15-2004, 04:10 PM
tominagirl tominagirl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: London,UK
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pt version 6.1 hell on Mix 3 TDM system

Sigh, if only it were that simple. If i could stay in one program I would be happy. I would like to use PT 6 all of the time because it could potentially save me a lot of time and effort bouncing between programs. I refuse to make do with Logic's audio editing. Pro Tools 5 Midi isn't up to it either. Obviously, I will go backwards if I can't go forwards, but you can't knock a person for trying to streamline working methods in order to maintain the creative flow. Know what I'm saying?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2004, 04:34 PM
LT LT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 38
Default Re: Pt version 6.1 hell on Mix 3 TDM system

What are the specific problems you're having?

Kernel panics are usually blamed on hardware conflicts. Try pulling some peripherals off your system and see what happens.

There's a ton of threads on NI instruments with PT TDM; you may want to start with a search through the DUC. Lots and lots of posted problems - problems that started with OS X. On my rig, Kontakt was fine under OS 9 and has been unusable under OS X.

LT

PT 6.1
OS 10.2.8
G4 Dual 800mHz "Quicksilver"
Lots of MIDI



Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-15-2004, 05:18 PM
tominagirl tominagirl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: London,UK
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pt version 6.1 hell on Mix 3 TDM system


Yup, I've read the posts. I've got round some of the NI problems by triggering them standalone via MIDI on a seperate computer. But that means I can only use one at a time. I'm aware that the NI stuff isn't totally compliant with OS X. Just wondered if it got any better or worse with Panther.
My kernel panics happen very inconsistently.But I will say that they often occur during a MIDI routing or screen redraw. That's processor related then right?
I don't really have many peripherals so to speak. Just an 888, a amt8 midi synchroniser and a USB hub. I have two internal 60GB drives and that's it! Could it be that the kernel panics have been generated by the NI stuff in conjunction with my hardware. I will do a test when I have a free day, by writing something entirely in Reason and then rewiring it and seeing if the system copes.

Have you had any problems bouncing long sessions on your system? Even if they just contain edited stereo files? Been reading about this from others on the forum. One person upgraded to OS 10.3.2 and 6.2.3 on his Mix Plus system and his problems went away. Just wondered if anyone else has had any luck, and if so, did any other problems appear as a result of upgrading? Here is my configuration:

PT Version 6.1/5.1.3
OS 10.2.8/9.2.2
G4 Quiksilver 867
640 RAM
Mix 3 System
1 x 888/24

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-15-2004, 05:50 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Default Re: Pt version 6.1 hell on Mix 3 TDM system

If you can, go to /System/Library/Logs and look for a file named panic.log.

Within that file, if it exists, is information that may point to your problem. For example, it may implicate a NI program, or some hardware. Look for a line that has the word dependencies. Usually a line or two after that word, it lists some files (for example, com.apple.PCIGraphics). That can help you narrow your troubleshooting to a particular program or hardware component.

Hope that helps.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-16-2004, 01:01 AM
Tubz Tubz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 323
Default Re: Pt version 6.1 hell on Mix 3 TDM system

Quote:
My kernel panics happen very inconsistently.But I will say that they often occur during a MIDI routing or screen redraw. That's processor related then right?

I would say it's a RAM. You have to at least double your RAM. OSX soaks RAM. Minimum 1.25 Gb RAM should get you further.
I think Panther is more stable and a more complete OS.

BR Tubz
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-16-2004, 06:56 AM
trakbytes trakbytes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles CA USA
Posts: 848
Default Re: Pt version 6.1 hell on Mix 3 TDM system

I upgraded to Panther and PT 6.2.3 on my Mix 3 system and am much happier with its performance than I ever was with Jaguar. It almost feels like, well, OS9 again. Now, I don't beat it up every day, but I do have Mach 5 and NI B4 on it, and they both work. (This is my home system, and doesn't get the 10 hours/day my work HD system gets). If Jaguar isn't working for you, I'd definitely recommend moving up to Panther,even though it isn't "officially" supported.

Creative post, BTW.

rcm
__________________
Save early and often! (or once a day whether you need to or not...)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-16-2004, 08:01 AM
LT LT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 38
Default Re: Pt version 6.1 hell on Mix 3 TDM system

A Wise Tech Once Told Me:

First rule of troubleshooting: one thing at a time.

Step 1: upgrade your RAM.

See if you can solve the kernel panics - unplug the MIDI stuff (including hubs and stuff not needed for running PT as an audio only app) and run a straight audio session. Start by checking your audio is on the correct drives, etc. Don't use any soft-synths or soft-samplers, virtual instruments, etc. at this point. Kernel panics? Bounce some files. If stuff is acting up at this point, it's safe to say it's in your PT files. Maybe an uninstall/reinstall would be in order - something may have been corrupted somewhere. Make sure you have the correct versions of all components.

If everything's okay, move on and start inserting plug-ins.

If everything's okay, start inserting your ReWire stuff, one at a time.

Follow suit until your rig is completely up and running.

At this point you should have a good idea of what's causing the problems in your rig. I would follow these steps before any further upgrading, especially to a non-supported configuration.

Personally, no, I haven't had any problems with bouncing long files.

LT

PT 6.1
OS 10.2.8
1.25 GB RAM
G4 Quicksilver DP 800mHZ
HD 2
192 I/O (2)
MOTU MTP AV



Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OMF files? Anyone know what system / version of PT I need? nica 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-02-2007 06:44 PM
ilok version for Mix 6.4.1 system? Ru_C Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 10-23-2006 04:17 AM
New System… what version should I start with EarnestBliss 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-23-2005 11:24 AM
which version/system do u think its better for... joanpi General Discussion 2 04-08-2004 04:09 AM
Which Operating System Version? Edward Soady Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 02-24-1999 09:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com