Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-07-2009, 10:35 AM
Bassturbator Bassturbator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posts: 227
Arrow Good edrum setup for recording live MIDI performances?

I'm looking for a good edrum setup to record live MIDI performances.
The idea is to let the talent play on the edrum, sampled by Superior 2.0 in PT HD8.

I've been looking into trying a V-Drum TD9 (has to wait 'till next week tho) for this, but do any of you have any other options or suggestions that I might want to look into? (different pads, modules etc...)

My budget for this is pretty limited tho. Looking to spend around €2000 max. for it.


ps: Will I be able to hook up the TD9 with it's USB for the MIDI input, or will I have to buy an additional MIDI to USB adapter?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-09-2009, 09:39 AM
Bassturbator Bassturbator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posts: 227
Default Re: Good edrum setup for recording live MIDI performances?

Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2009, 05:46 PM
MEAT MEAT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 357
Default Re: Good edrum setup for recording live MIDI performances?

I've had great success with numerous Roland TD kits with DKFHS and Superior 2.I use a Digi midi I/O but I also use a PadKontrol via USB to program some of my own drum beats.I'd say stick with Roland and get yourself a midi interface and scrap the USB route.I got a brand new DIGI Midi I/O on ebay for $300 shipped.Gotta shop around.
__________________
Bug ridden Pro Tools 8 but back to 7.4 HD2,192 I/O,96 I/O,Midi I/O,Control 24
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-09-2009, 06:32 PM
Bassturbator Bassturbator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posts: 227
Default Re: Good edrum setup for recording live MIDI performances?

Thanks MEAT :)

I think I'll go for a cheaper midi I/O option like the M-Audio UNO which is only $50.
Or does the digidesign midi I/O have some super ultra mega cool bonus features that I'm not aware of?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-09-2009, 06:53 PM
SuperPuss SuperPuss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Geelong (near Melbourne), Australia
Posts: 107
Default Re: Good edrum setup for recording live MIDI performances?

You'll find a ton of great information on the vdrums.com forum. I'm running Superior Drummer 2 with a custom V-Kit based on three modules (TD20, TD12 and TMC-6) and all three modules trigger SD2 very well.
Make sure you have all the SD2 updates though or you'll have issues getting the hihat to work properly.
If you do a search for "Superior Drummer 2 hihat" over at vdrums.com, there's some great tutorials there.

There's plenty of people using SD2 with TD9's with great success too. You might even be able to get one second hand from someone upgrading to a bigger kit.
__________________
Video tour of my AusDisciples project studio


Studio rig
- 002r, Onyx 1640 & 1620, PT8, REAPER, Win7 64, Q9450 quad, Asus P5Q, CMLabs MotorMate and MotorMix, CMLabs Sixty Four Router, Motu Midi Timepiece AV
Second rig
- Mbox2 Pro, PT8, REAPER, Win7 32, Asus M51sn laptop
Live tracking rig - Onyx 1640 & 1620, REAPER, WinXP, Asus M51sn laptop

My Website
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-09-2009, 07:01 PM
SuperPuss SuperPuss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Geelong (near Melbourne), Australia
Posts: 107
Default Re: Good edrum setup for recording live MIDI performances?

More info on setting up hihat HERE :)
__________________
Video tour of my AusDisciples project studio


Studio rig
- 002r, Onyx 1640 & 1620, PT8, REAPER, Win7 64, Q9450 quad, Asus P5Q, CMLabs MotorMate and MotorMix, CMLabs Sixty Four Router, Motu Midi Timepiece AV
Second rig
- Mbox2 Pro, PT8, REAPER, Win7 32, Asus M51sn laptop
Live tracking rig - Onyx 1640 & 1620, REAPER, WinXP, Asus M51sn laptop

My Website
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-09-2009, 07:43 PM
MEAT MEAT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 357
Default Re: Good edrum setup for recording live MIDI performances?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassturbator View Post
Thanks MEAT :)
does the digidesign midi I/O have some super ultra mega cool bonus features that I'm not aware of?
Nope.........your just paying for the name.The retail $599 is insane so ya better never pay it!
__________________
Bug ridden Pro Tools 8 but back to 7.4 HD2,192 I/O,96 I/O,Midi I/O,Control 24
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-10-2009, 08:29 PM
Bassturbator Bassturbator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posts: 227
Default Re: Good edrum setup for recording live MIDI performances?

Wow, thanks SuperPuss
Seems like there's some sleepless nights waiting for me lol
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-16-2009, 09:36 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,849
Default Re: Good edrum setup for recording live MIDI performances?

I use an older TD10 expanded module with a set of pads(mesh pads on kick and snare) and USUALLY) I use real hats and cymbals. I can still edit the performance easily(make a group of the overheads and hat mics and apply Elastic Audio). I can also use pads for cymbals and hat but using the real things feels like it adds air and dimension that is not there with all pads. It drives ezdrummer very well(in fact, the ezdrummer hat seems to follow the Roland hat pad/trigger setup better than the Roland internal sounds).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RTAS in Live Performances? dFRESHb Virtual Instruments 5 01-27-2014 05:28 PM
Help - Protools for Live Performances gmg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-17-2006 09:00 AM
Best Software for Live Performances?? markus44uk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 10-15-2004 12:29 AM
setup for recording live performances wiznant 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 26 12-17-2003 11:43 AM
Live Performances and the Digi001 accession 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 05-29-2000 09:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com