Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-24-2009, 12:30 PM
MoritzRock MoritzRock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London UK
Posts: 178
Question TimeMachine

Hi All!!

A silly question that is not related to PT at all.. i am sure some of you have come across this and i don't seem to find an answer on the apple site..

I had a time machine backup on a drive and i have deleted the backup folder but have not retrieved my space... It happened to me previously and had to reformat the drive to clear the space.

Is there a way of clearing the space/deleting TM backups without reformatting?

Thanks in advance,

Mo
__________________
Mo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-24-2009, 02:13 PM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,091
Default Re: TimeMachine

Empty the trash . The drive will not show freed space until you empty it
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-24-2009, 05:05 PM
MoritzRock MoritzRock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London UK
Posts: 178
Default Re: TimeMachine

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cliffy_Boy View Post
Empty the trash . The drive will not show freed space until you empty it

Oops! Forgot to mention I did empty the thrash, ...wish that would be the case... Emptying the bin does not free the space in this case.

Thanks for the reply though.
__________________
Mo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-27-2009, 03:10 PM
Jeffrey Talbot Jeffrey Talbot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: New Orleans, LA USA
Posts: 637
Default Re: TimeMachine

Emptying the trash should do the trick unless you've aborted a TM backup in progress.. in which case I'm guessing all kinds of nasty things could happen.

You might try Tech Tool Pro on your drive to see if that helps.

I have trashed TM backups before, and have regained the disc space, so I know that it works.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
timemachine TCLguy1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 08-10-2009 03:41 PM
G5 Dual with C-lab Timemachine? jansensh Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 03-08-2007 08:32 AM
FREE TimeMachine Pro v2.5 mToolsCenter General Discussion 0 03-18-2001 11:44 AM
Download TimeMachine v2.0 for FREE mToolsCenter General Discussion 2 02-25-2001 02:23 PM
Download TimeMachine for FREE mToolsCenter General Discussion 0 02-19-2001 01:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com