Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-04-2001, 04:23 AM
Nickos Nickos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 13
Default DirectX drivers are a must

Could Digi tell us why there are no DirectX drivers for the Digi001/AMIII?

There are a lot of applications, like stand-alone soft synths, that perform with ultra-low latency with DirectX drivers.

Every sound card on the market has DirectX drivers, just like they have MME drivers. Because it is a Microsoft/Windows standard. It has nothing to do with a specific music software manufacturer (like Steinberg/ASIO or Nemesys/GSIF).

Ok, let's say there are no ASIO drivers because Steinberg has to write them (I don't agree with this though). Then, what is the excuse for not providing DirectX drivers? Is it that Microsoft has to write them?

I would like to use my AMIII with software like Gigasampler and Reaktor through DirectX drivers.

Digi, please let us have your comments for the supply of DirectX drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2001, 10:28 AM
ZerO dB ZerO dB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 38
Default Re: DirectX drivers are a must

here here !
__________________
ZerO dB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2001, 04:07 PM
rdpete rdpete is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: grasston,mn,usa
Posts: 343
Default Re: DirectX drivers are a must

not to mention, the use of VST plugs too...

not gonna hold my breath for ANY of it though.....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-07-2001, 07:21 AM
gtrboy gtrboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 114
Default Re: DirectX drivers are a must

Sucks doesn't it?? I guess Avid wants to keep Pro Tools as a different animal from all the other DAW's out there by not making it compatable with ANYTHING. Seems like it would make more sense to have it work well with other platforms (Direct X, etc.) so that people could use it along side other programs. I know several people that would LOVE to do their stuff on Pro Tools, but won't buy the system because they won't be able to use the plug-in's they have now that they use with Cubase, Logic, etc. I'm sure there is some smart suit with a MBA in Avid that has figured out a reason for doing it this way, but I know it is frustrating for me. If I had to do it all oer again, I would definitely NOT buy my 001.

OK, the rant is officially over.

gtrboy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-11-2001, 03:09 PM
ZerO dB ZerO dB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 38
Default Re: DirectX drivers are a must

I hear you. Do Digi ?
__________________
ZerO dB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DirectX Plug ins Trump it Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 03-29-2005 07:31 PM
DirectX plugins j20056 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 12-22-2002 11:04 AM
DirectX plug-ins? dan5150 Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 09-15-2002 04:10 AM
RTAS DirectX ????? polkbrosmusic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 06-07-2001 09:07 AM
DirectX - VST ? mikek 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-27-2000 12:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com