Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-19-2011, 01:40 PM
phiffdawg phiffdawg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 26
Default Expression pedal with PT8

Hi,

Okay what am i missing here? I just bought a Boss fv-500h pedal. When I plug it into my Axiom MIDI keyboard I can't get the pedal to do anything in Xpand and Structure and I get no sounds coming into Protools. when I unplug the cable everything works fine.

Anyone know what the problem is? Does this pedal not work with Protools?

Thanks,

Phiff
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-19-2011, 02:31 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,846
Default Re: Expression pedal with PT8

Are you using the jack on the pedal that says "exp" (for expression) as opposed to the jack that says "output"?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-19-2011, 04:56 PM
phiffdawg phiffdawg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 26
Default Re: Expression pedal with PT8

yes.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-19-2011, 07:54 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,538
Default Re: Expression pedal with PT8

Have you tried Option-clicking on a parameter in the plugin, selecting Learn, and working the pedal?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-22-2011, 11:57 AM
phiffdawg phiffdawg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 26
Default Re: Expression pedal with PT8

When I do that with the volume parameter not much happens. Strangely the only response I get is a slight rise in level when I "unpress" the volume pedal. The opposite reaction I would expect. The level is really low and inaudible though.

I just unplugged the cable and get no sound now even thought the pedal isn't plugged in.

Any thoughts on where I should go to solve this issue?

thx,

C
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-22-2011, 03:53 PM
phiffdawg phiffdawg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 26
Default Re: Expression pedal with PT8

I think I have found the problem. I am using a mono 1/4" cable and should be using a stereo one...

C
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-03-2011, 09:29 AM
phiffdawg phiffdawg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 26
Default Re: Expression pedal with PT8

Just to comfirm: the problem was that I was using a mono cable instead of stereo (duh).

thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DB-33 expression pedal assignment johnwott Virtual Instruments 0 06-07-2012 11:50 AM
Mission EP-11 expression pedal PBGas Eleven Rack 5 04-10-2012 01:28 PM
Expression Pedal observations Jermak Eleven Rack 3 04-25-2011 08:04 AM
Using expression pedal with ProTools phiffdawg MIDI 0 01-19-2011 01:41 PM
Expression pedal > Rig Volume > on To Amp out as well? therealmf Eleven Rack 5 10-17-2010 12:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com