Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-11-2002, 09:04 AM
The Recordist The Recordist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Sagle, Idaho, USA
Posts: 214
Default Apple Audio Extension and PT

Does anyone out there know if the "Apple Audio Extension" is critical for running PT-5? Mine is crashing on boot. OS 9.2.1 G4/733 (2nd Gen)

I have disabled it and so far nothing is weird.

-Frank
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-02-2003, 04:49 PM
Boom Chic Boom Chic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Los Angeles CA USA
Posts: 727
Default Re: Apple Audio Extension and PT

Lee, is the "toolbar menu" on the same monitor as the "smiley face" in the monitor control panel? If not, drag it over (just like the smiley face). [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

Mine was on the other monitor (not the one with the smiley face) for some reason, and dragging it over to the smiley face solved the same problem for me as you describe.
__________________
Karen Basset
Boom Chic Studios
Los Angeles, CA 90048
karenbasset@hotmail.com
http://www.boomchic.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-03-2003, 01:03 AM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: Apple Audio Extension and PT

Hi there,

I am running a Quicksilver Dual 1G 9.2.2 (in single proc mode) and have run into the same problem. I am also using dual monitors from the stock video card with a DR. Bott. (Mitsubishi 19" diamondtron and a generic 17" svga cheepie)

For me it is a random occurence. Sometimes the machine just hangs on boot and gives the "apple audio extension" bomb. If I reboot all is usually well.

A second weirdness is that although I picked the bigger monitor for the smiley MAc and boot display I find that many times the OS starts on the smaller one then switches 1/2 way through, or It starts on the big one but at a weird resolution and usually fixes 1/2 way through.

So...... I also tried putting the apple audio extension in the unused ext. folder (been only a day so far). So far no problems. I set the sound control panel to Digi and have gone back and forth from Jam5, PT 5.1.1, Toast 5, Itunes and rebooted a couple of times with no apparent problem.

Any one else tried this????
-Lee
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-03-2003, 01:09 AM
Boom Chic Boom Chic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Los Angeles CA USA
Posts: 727
Default Re: Apple Audio Extension and PT

Lee, in the monitors control panel, do you have the smiley face and the menu bar dragged to the right monitor?
__________________
Karen Basset
Boom Chic Studios
Los Angeles, CA 90048
karenbasset@hotmail.com
http://www.boomchic.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-03-2003, 01:11 AM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: Apple Audio Extension and PT

Yep, smiley face in the right place.

Thanks,
-Lee
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-04-2003, 02:36 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: Apple Audio Extension and PT

Sorry for the incomplete reply.....

Yes smiley and control bar in the right place. I have been using the #2 monitor as the start up one though and wondered if I should switch the comnnectors.

But the good news for me is since removing the apple audio extension my boot problem is gone, monitors have started correctly and I can go between Itunes, PT, Jam5 and Toast5 while listening to audio in my studio mains with no problems! Been 4 days now and I am starting to think all these issues may be solved. Of course beware getting alerts in the mains and turn volume feedback OFF in sound panel (otherwise you can get the BEEP from hell).

Thanks again for you help though,
-Lee
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
apple pci extension still needed with HD OS 9 ? digigirly Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-14-2003 06:44 AM
Apple PCI Extension Shawn1272 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-26-2003 01:53 AM
Apple Audio Extension 1.3.3 phonetic Digidesign Hardware & Software 5 11-03-2002 06:16 AM
mBox vs. apple audio extension/ USB weirdness jes 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 08-05-2002 12:26 PM
Apple Audio extension 1.3.3 for use with imic Landman Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 06-14-2002 05:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com